Paper craft project no. 263: Sending Christmas cheer one layer card

2014-09-13 OLC Sending Christmas cheer

Hello! Popping by tonight to share another quickie CAS one layer Christmas card. I stamped the backside of the poinsettia (Holiday Sketches: Christmas Flower) in VersaMagic red magic chalk ink before stamping the image over it in Memento tuxedo black. The image is not symmetrical so when I stamped the poinsettia right side up, it created an offset/retro look — which is what I was after :o) I stamped the sentiment (Sentiment Builders: Christmas & New Year) in the same red and black inks. I added 3 green Candi paper brads underneath the stamped image for an extra Christmas color and finished the card by rounding one corner. Believe it or not, this card was so quick to make that I was able to make 15 of these in 30 minutes, assembly line style! Stamping was a breeze; gluing the paper brads was what took long. I’ve got a nice pile of Christmas cards now :o)

If you haven’t heard yet, we’re having a stamp release blog hop over at the STAMPlorations blog. The hop is until Monday, September 15, and there are prizes to be won, such as stamps from the new release and a $25 gift certificate to use on the STAMPlorations shop. Participating is pretty simple: just visit the stops on the hop and leave a comment :o)

Cornelia | Debra | Deepti Kylie | Maria Monika | Nonni | Shery (me!) | Shirley Vicki

 

I based the design of this card on the Happy Little Stampers sketch for September. HLS is relatively new and it’s run by my fab friend and talented designer Kylie! Hope you’ll pop on over there, say hi, and even make something based on this very cool sketch! (I’ve got a few more cards to share based on the sketch.)

I’m also linking up my card to CASology #112 – Three. I used 3 green paper brads, 3 words, 3 colors – red, black, and green [I’m leaving the white out of it ;o)], and I may be pushing this last bit — I rounded one corner so I’m left with 3 right angles on the card.

A couple more fun challenges to link up: ABC Christmas Challenge – R for Red Poinsettias and The Sisterhood of Crafters – Single Layer Cards.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 263: Sending Christmas cheer one layer card”

  1. Gorgeous! I love the clean simplicity of it and that stamp is stunning.
    Thanks for joining the ABC Christmas Challenge.
    Carissa

  2. Wow this is a spectacular christmas card. Love the one layer design and how you did the poinsetta. Thanks for playing at ABC Christmas Challenge and good luck. Hope to see you back wednesday for a new challenge. Bettina DT Member at ABC Christmas Challenge xx

  3. Absolutely GORGEOUS card. Love the white with the black and red – beautiful. Thanks so much for joining us in The Sisterhood of Crafters in our Single Layer challenge.

  4. Fantastic take on the sketch – turned out beautifully!!!

  5. Gorgeous “Single Layer Card”!!!! Thank for joining us at “The Sisterhood” for our challenge this week!
    Diane TSH DT

  6. I love your amazing poinsettia! Why don’t I think to stamp on the backside of a stamp? Arghh, I need to keep a notebook of your cool techniques. LOVE your take on the sketch. Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers xx

  7. Such a pretty Christmas card. Love the traditional colors. Thanks so much for playing along at CASology this week.

  8. I’ll need to find a way to explain the bruises on my chin, the result of all the jaw-dropping gorgeous cards you continue to churn out, one after another! Your showcase of the poinsettia is absolutely festive fabulous. So incredibly pretty…..
    Hugs~c

  9. WOW what a fabulous & festive creation! Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘SINGLE LAYER CARD’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS

  10. Beautiful take on the sketch, Love the retro style!