Paper craft project no. 182: Follow your heart mixed media card [with video tutorial]

2014-05-01 Follow your heart mixed media card

 

It’s a new month, which means we’ve got a new challenge theme over at the STAMPlorations blog. We’ve got a very talented card-maker, Sue, joining us this month as guest designer! You’ve got to see the projects the STAMPlorations girls made! You’ll be blown away by the creativity :o)

My mixed media card is not quite what I had planned. I had a vision of the card I wanted to make but when it was time for me to create it, I ended up making something completely different. I had my supplies gathered but when it was time to shoot the video, I found myself reaching for my scraps and old supplies instead. So while I initially anticipated that it wouldn’t take me more than 15 minutes to make my card, it took me close to half an hour to make this one. It’s because I did a lot of thinking and searching and drumming my fingers. I edited the video down to just under 8 minutes, though. Like my previous videos, this one’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart.

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-05-01 Follow your heart mixed media card - crop

I’d like to enter my card to Virginia’s View Challenge #3: Stitching. I have a sewing machine that my MIL gave me for Christmas in 2012, but I must admit it’s still in its box. I’m afraid to use the thing. (Perhaps I’ll muster the courage to use it this year.) The chicken that I am, I opted for faux stitching — rub-ons. I’ve got a ton of them and I mainly use them in my mixed media canvases. Thought they’d be perfect to use in this mixed media card. And it’s anything goes over at the Simon Says Wednesday Challenge blog.

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

 

Supplies:
Stamps: Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds, VIGNETTE: Artful Flutters, VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals, and DARE Subway Art Builders [STAMPlorations]
Inks and Paints: Jet Black Archival Ink [Ranger]; Squeezed Lemonade, Broken China Distess Paints [Ranger]
Other Media: Gesso, Gloss Gel Medium [Liquitex]
Card Base: 140-lb cold-press watercolor paper [Canson]
Other Supplies: Designer Paper Scraps [Pink Paislee, K&Company, Authentic]; Diecut Flower [K&Company]; Rub-on Stiching [DaisyD’s]; Star Dust Stickles [Ranger]

The sentiment stamp I used is part of one of the 5 new stamp sets scheduled for release this month at STAMPlorations. The STAMPlorations girls will be doing a Stamp Release Blog Hop and offering these new stamps as prizes. Follow the STAMPlorations blog because that’s where the hop will start on May 7!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful, wonderful weekend ahead!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 182: Follow your heart mixed media card [with video tutorial]”

  1. This is such an amazing creation! You are so talented and such an inspiration.

  2. gorgeous…

  3. This card ROCKS!! I love the whole design and the stitching is lovely!!! Stunning, stunning, stunning!!

  4. Wow Shery. You make it look so easy. Love your Mixed Media cards and this one is no exception! Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  5. A beautiful card, what fabulous design and colours. I love your faux stitching and such a gorgeous image!!

    Thanks so much for joining Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Heather xx

  6. Such a beautiful work of artistic talent displayed here, Shery. Love the faux stitching :-)

  7. Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!

  8. Again I am in awe of your mixed media cards! Off to watch the video and learn.

  9. Beauty full. You had me going at first, thinking you’d painted those blooms… In your spare time, of course ;)

  10. Amazing! You are such an amazing artist! Love those flowers!!

  11. Stunning as always- I just love looking at your mixed media cards.. You just do them so well with so many fun and wonderful elements .

  12. Gorgeous – have to watch that video when I have a moment! I often do the same thing – I think I know what card I’m going to make, but then I make something completely different – part of the fun, isn’t it?

  13. The flowers are so well done; looks like they are right on a table in my garden… The stitching gives it some “nochelance” feeling, what made me think of lazy warm summerdays that I had as a child when making things out of fabric in our garden,,,, En joy your weekend, Gerrina

  14. wow, this is stunning Shery.I have to add to the stitching comments-I love how you mixed up the tyoes of stitching you used. Fab! And wow the flowers look so gorgeous-will have to check out the video later x

  15. GRRR, I already wrote a long comment about sewing… But the internet connection decided it was not worth reading for! :) This time I’l just tell you how much I like your card and especially the faux stitching -it frames everything perfectly. I also like the edges of the card with little white here and there -looks great! xx

  16. LOVE your faux stitching, Shery. They really add that special touches to your design! I can’t believe that you have a closeted sewing machine….(much like my closeted Cricut Expression)! Perhaps you will crack that box open and do some machine stitching by the end of V. V. Stitching challenge!? You are so talented…what do you have to lose?! Thank you again for playing V.V. Challenge! We got very spoiled from your regular videos!