Paper craft project no. 183: Thanks for all you do, Mom mixed media card [with video tutorial]

2014-05-05 Thanks for all you do Mom
It’s the first Monday of May, which means it’s time for a brand new sketch challenge at STAMPlorations! Joining us as guest designer is the super creative card-maker, Mynnette! Do check out her card and the inspiration projects that the rest of the STAMPlorations girls created! You’ll love what each of them made for this sketch!

For my project, I went with another mixed media card. I used dye inks, distress paints, and gold embossing powder. Last week, I splurged on new dies and I used one of them (from Lil’ Inker) in my card. I also used a Hero Arts stencil (Tweed Pattern/Chevron)  and basically stuck with a monochromatic color scheme because I wanted a card with bits of shabby, vintage, and elegance.  This is a card that’s perfect not just for Mother’s Day, but any other day as well. See the background? I used two small grunge floral strips to create a shabby/vintage background. (The stamps I used are from the new sets that will be available this week — and we’ve got a blog hop to celebrate it! ) Anyway, why don’t I show you how I made this card? Yep, another video :o) It’s less than 7 minutes and like my previous videos, it’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart.

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-05-05 Thanks for all you do Mom - closeup
I’d like to enter my card to Virginia’s View Challenge #3: Stitching. In my previous entry, I used rub-on stitches. I went with faux stitching again in this card, but using dies. I might be working my way toward doing some real stitching — *start heart palpitations* and who knows, I may finally bust my Brother sewing machine out of its box before Virginia’s challenge ends. *end heart palpitations* At Addicted to Stamps and More, the theme is holiday (my card is a Mother’s Day card, although it fits other occasions as well). And finally, “Mother” is the theme at The Paper Players #194.

GRAB OUR BADGE!

That’s about it for me today. I hope you all have a super creative week!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 183: Thanks for all you do, Mom mixed media card [with video tutorial]”

  1. Love all on your card the sentiment the background and the add of the button to fit the sketch great card Shery…Your idea is fabulous…this is great also for DAD card..

    I join the challenge on Stamplorations with this sketch too my card is nr. 19 maybe you would like to see it…I would be glad…hugs, Monika from Germany.

  2. Hi Shery. Another fab card. It has it all … shabby, vintage and elegance. Off to watch the Tuto. Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  3. I was truly inspired by your card and watched the video! thanks for sharing!

  4. This is SO awesome, Shery! LOVE the gorgeous colors–so elegant! Thanks so much for having me as a guest at STAMPlorations! :) HUGS and enjoy the rest of you week! Mynn xx

  5. Another one of your amazing backgrounds – neat, to use the MOM as background and stamp the Thanks over it!

  6. You do mixed media cards just so well.. Love the richness with the colours.

  7. I just watched the video, Shery, it’s wonderful. I love the tiled background and the gold embossed stenciling is perfect. I am inspired to do that it adds so much. The whole colour scheme is beautiful.

  8. oh Shery!! Ur cards are so fantastic, I love the way u create all these artsy BG, I can only dream about creating something like this :) Thank you for sharing with ATSM !!

  9. Fabulous! One of these days, I will take the time and watch how you create these fun cards!

  10. just fabulous, so much skill, it is scary and thanks for joining us at ATSM

  11. You can do it all, Shery…This card is FABULOUS! I love the rich and bold colors and the faux stitching really adds that something something. Now GO and GET that BROTHER machine out…(insert my heart palpitation)!! Can.not.wait!

  12. Wow, so much to see on the background; almost forgot to look at the rest….Great take on the sketch! Hugs, Gerrina

  13. Shabby, vintage, elegant? Check.

