Paper craft project no. 308: Merry Christmas mixed media card

Hello! Well, it’s been ages since I’ve posted! Chalk it up to a super-busy week last week with the Thanksgiving holiday.  I’m now playing catch-up with my to-do list! I’m sharing a card today for the December challenge over at Mixed Media Mojo. This month, the theme is “Winter Holidays” with “Ornament” as the optional twist. I hope you’ll come check out what my teammates created and then join in on the fun :o)

I skipped the twist and went with a quick card. I created stripes and dots on my card base with Distress paints (mowed lawn, festive berries, and mustard seed). I splattered shabby shutters Distress ink and stamped the poinsettia in mustard seed Distress ink. For the border, I just used the side of my Japanese watercolor brush pen and ran it along the edges. I added drywall tape and torn patterned paper then dabbed them with a bit of PanPastels. I mixed silver Gelatos with modeling paste and applied that over a stencil. I adhered a piece of burlap ribbon then stamped the poinsettia again on pre-cut diecut and colored it with Chameleon Color Tones. Last, I stamped the sentiment in jet black archival ink.

My card’s also a reminder for the current challenge at Time Out Challenges. The current theme is “embossing” with the optional twist of sparkle. There’s still a couple of days left to play. Create a project with the twist and you’ll be in the running to win a stamp set from our sponsor, Avocado Arts.

Linking up my project to these fun challenges: (1) Addicted to Stamps #92 – Lots of Layers; (2) Addicted to Stamps and More #123 – Holiday; (3) Just Us Girls #269 – Anything Goes; and (4) Sentimental Sundays #235 – Lots of Layers.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

15 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 308: Merry Christmas mixed media card”

  1. Hi Shery. LOVE the bright colours, amazing!!! Thanks for joining us at ATSM this week. Have a lovely day! Hugs Monika xxx

  2. Love the grunge and colourfulness of this card – FAB :) Hugs Bev x

  3. Fabulous! Tht poinsettia coloring is awesome – Thanks so much for joining in with us at JUGS!

  4. Love all of those beautiful colors and the way you always add so much texture! Your designs are always so amazing and are such an inspiration to me. Thanks for playing with us at JUGS!

  5. LOVE this one, so eye catching!

  6. Oh, this is gorgeous! Love the bright and cheery colors! There are so many artistic accents that I so love! Love that you’ve shared it with us at the Addicted to Stamps Challenge Blog! Thank you for playing along!

    XO,
    Chris
    http://ascrappersmusings.blogspot.com

  7. Superb!! I so love ur style :)

  8. Such a lovely vibrant card with fabulous texture, well done! Thanks for joining us this week at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  9. Sweet! Great card! Thank you for joining us at the Time Out Challenge.

  10. It would take me at least an hour to make this card; maybe more. You are the queen of mixed media techniques, Shery!

  11. Wow don’t know how you can call this quick! It is so bright and full of fun and the touch of white on the poinsetta looks great, thanks for doing a Time Out reminder x

  12. Lots of fun colors on this card! Love that it is so bright and beautiful! Thanks for joining us this week at Just Us Girls!

  13. I’m always intrigued by your backgrounds and appreciate the detail you provide on them, Shery! This is such a fun and bold design! So happy you could join us at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  14. Bold, bright, beautiful and so much texture. Love this Christmas card! Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

