Paper craft project no. 299: Joy to the world mixed media tag

 

Have you checked out the Twelve Tags of Christmas event?

I’m happy to be part of Loll’s super-fun event. When Loll asked a couple of months ago if I’d be interested in being one of her guest designers for her mixed media tag event, I didn’t think twice about saying yes. It was a no brainer :o)

And here’s my tag:

12 Tags of Christmas Mixed Media Tag

 

I covered a manila tag with several layers of Pink Paislee designer paper (from the City Sidewalks collection),  inking and distressing the edges, and stamping some areas to give it a grunge feel. I also added bits of drywall tape for texture. On cardstock, I stamped the poinsettia and loosely watercolored it with Distress inks. Then I heat embossed the same poinsettia on red and gold vellum, fussy cut them, and layered the 3 poinsettias. I also heat embossed the sentiment on gold vellum, fussy cut, and adhered onto my tag. I finished the with jute twine (I grunged it up by rubbing different Distress inks on it.). Lots of textures on this tag with a shabby, grunge feel.

Please do check out the tags by other fabulous guest designers. And there will still be 4 more guest designers so best to follow Loll’s blog so you don’t miss out! And if you join in and create your own mixed media tag, you could win a $40 gift certificate from STAMPlorations! You have until November 16 to link up to the gallery.

Thank you so much for stopping by and I hope to see your mixed media tag in the gallery, okay?

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 299: Joy to the world mixed media tag”

  1. Oh Shery this is just perfection!! I love all the textures and colors and layers. EVERYTHING! Just amazing!

  2. This looks so cool n trendy :) I love the layered poinsettia and great colors !!

  3. All those layers, wow! Love the muted colors too.

  4. WOW! I LOVE your tag! All the details are amazing.

  5. Totally different; looks like a male one I think? Great bold one! Gerrina x

  6. I imagine you beaming with glee as you created this tag! What fun with so many layers of paper and the dry wall poking out like stuffing. Your poinsettia sings in the land of shabby grunge! Awesome creativity!

  7. I love all the layers and texture Shery – lots of fun!

  8. This is amazing, Shery! So much texture and depth! Love that poinsettia!

  9. Grungy goodness with such depth and texture…love it!

  10. This is the coolest tag ever Shery! :) Love the layers of papers, stamping and distressing … the drywall tape looks awesome poking out here and there. Your poinsettia is gorgeous, fussy-cutting the images to different sizes, in different colours and then layering them, gives it so much texture and depth. Fabulous grunge-y tag! Thanks so much for being a part of my Christmas tag event … you’re the greatest! :) Loll xx

