Paper craft project no. 297: 4 cards = Shery loves doilies!

I’m a one layer card girl at heart, but I gotta say that the doilies from SRM Stickers had me hooked! Once I started using them, I couldn’t stop at just one card. I hope you’ll come check out the SRM Stickers blog where my cards are featured today.

Exhibit A: Simple But Elegant

SRM Stickers Blog - Doily Love by Shery - #cards #doilies #stickers

So this is card #1. I thought I’d do a simple card first and because you know me and layers…we don’t go along well! (Besides, I had to channel my inner Nonni for this batch of cards. That girl can be the poster girl for doilies because the cards she makes with them are simply gorgeous…like this one here.)  I used an SRM White Heart Lace Doily. I thought it was perfect to use for a love or wedding themed card. I placed the doily on the bottom left corner of the card, trimmed the edges, and rounded the corner. I was after a clean look so I kept the design uncluttered and simple using the white stitches in the Sticker Stitches/ChristmasStickers by the Dozen/Wedding, and Fancy Sentiment/Love.

Linking up card #1 to these fun challenges: Creative Moments #55 – Anything Goes/Celebration and Through the Craft Room Door – Anything Goes.

Exhibit B: Clean And Graphic

SRM Stickers Blog - Doily Love by Shery - #cards #doilies #stickers

Card #1 got my me all happy that I decided to step it up a bit on card #2 and add a little layer. I also wanted a clean and graphic look, so I stamped a newsprint stamp on my card base in brown ink and adhered Sticker Stitches/Christmas on either side. I adhered the labels with the fishtails in the Labels by the Dozen/Bright Blank then adhered the 4″ white lace doily on top and trimmed it to the edge of the card. Next, I took a large 2.5″ white scalloped circle punch piece, added a sentiment from the Fancy Sentiments/Thanks, adhered it onto the doily, and trimmed. I finished the card by adding black stitching from the Sticker Stitches/Black.

Linking card #2 to these fun challenges: The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge #89 – Thank You and Word Art Wednesday #157 – Anything Goes.

Exhibit C: Clean And Simple for Fall

SRM Stickers Blog - Doily Love by Shery - #cards #doilies #stickers

As for card #3, I decided to create a fall-themed card so I went with fall colors of yellow, orange and red. I stamped the newsprint and leaves on the card base and added black stitching from the Sticker Stitches/Black. I layered two scalloped circle punched pieces (2.5″ and 2″) and added a sentiment from the Sentiment/Fall. I cut a 4″ white lace doily in half, folded each half, and adhered on the back of either side of the layered punch pieces.

Linking card #3 to these fun challenges: Shopping Our Stash #176 – Leaf Me Alone! and Fresh Brewed Designs – Fall Colors

Exhibit D: Freestyle Collage

SRM Stickers Blog - Doily Love by Shery - #cards #doilies #stickers

And now we come to card #4. This is the card that took me the longest to put together. I spent 45 minutes auditioning the different elements and I kept bugging DH and showing him different looks. Being the ever helpful husband, he gave encouraging comments (“That looks pretty, dear.” “I like the color of that butterfly.” “I don’t know what that thing is that’s sticking out, but I say keep it.” “How much longer are you going to take? It looks great already. I’m hungry.”) accompanied by glazed, helpless looks. The 6″ white lace doily was the perfect background for all the diecuts I found in my stash. First I stamped a newsprint background stamp in black ink on the card base and then added white cross-stitch stickers from the Sticker Stitches/Christmas around the edge. I adhered the doily, trimmed it, and then added black cross-stitch stickers. I went through my stash of diecuts and just layered the different elements onto the doily. I used a label from the Labels by the Dozen/Black & White and adhered it on the card base. I finished the card by adding a sentiment from the Sentiment/Thinking of You.

Linking card #4 to these fun challenges: Crafting by Designs November Challenge – Anything Goes; Simon Says Monday Challenge – Good ‘ol Days (the diecuts from K&Company that I used have been in my stash for at least 4 years); and Mod Squad Challenge – Grandma’s Attic (Doily).

Hope you enjoyed my little parade of cards. And I’d love it if you could stop by the SRM Stickers blog. There are oodles and oodles of fabulous projects and inspiration there! Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

22 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 297: 4 cards = Shery loves doilies!”

  1. Oh my these are all stunning! Great use of doilies -and these doilies are super beautiful! I have to check out the store. Thanks for the shout out too, Shery, very sweet of you. :) I think my favorite cards are the 2 first -I love how you combined the doilies with clean, “contemporary” look. Hugs!

  2. Great set of cards. Thanks for joining us at The Craftre’s Cafe this week.
    Hugs
    Fiona DT x

  3. What a gorgeous set of cards! Love how you used the doilies differently on each one. Beautiful!

    Thank you for sharing and playing along with us at Freshly Brewed Challenges FALL COLORS Challenge.

    Smiles,
    Heather

  4. WOW very creative use of the doilies!!!! love the colors you have used and how they are all so different.

    Thanks for joining our fortnight challenge here at Fresh Brewed Challenge. Hope you will join us next time DT Crafting Vicky.

  5. This is awesome…Every single one of them is adorable. Great job on using the doilies! We’re delighted that you joined our Challenge last week at Word Art Wednesday. We hope to see you again this week. Leaving you with God’s Word in Hebrews 12:2, “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Have a blessed day.

    JO ANN
    http://jatterburycreations.blogspot.com

  6. This is so perfect for our ‘FALL COLOURS’ theme. Just love the colours and designs. Thanks for sharing your talent with us and good luck.
    Hugs
    Desíre
    {Fresh Brewed Designs DT Member}
    {Doing Life – my personal blog}

  7. These cards are stunning, Chery! Thanks SO MUCH for sharing your talents with us, and please join us again soon.
    Bless you,
    Karen
    Word Art Wednesday
    http://www.karen-mycuprunnethover.blogspot.com – I’d love to have you visit me some time.

  8. Hi, Shery, what can I say? Your work is always elegant, well thought out and beautifully executed. Thanks so much for accepting the challenge and playing along this week at Shopping Our Stash!
    Hugz,
    Chana, DT

  9. Hi, Shery, what can I say? Your work is always elegant, well thought out and beautifully executed. Thanks so much for accepting the challenge and playing along this week at Shopping Our Stash!
    Hugz,
    Chana, DT

  10. Gorgeous doily cards, Shery! I bought some a few weeks ago – they’re still sitting in my NBUS stash… Need to get them out and start sticking!

  11. Most Fabulous! Thanks for linking up with the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! – Ashli :)

  12. Your collection of doily cards is amazing!

  13. Your collection of doily cards are amazing!

  14. Very cool use of the doilies. Thanks for joining us this fortnight over at Fresh Brewed Designs. Good luck in the draw.

    Lisa D., FBD DT

  15. Fantastic cards Shery! I love those doilies!! Thanks for joining the Shopping Our Stash crew for our “Leaf Me Alone” challenge this week!!

  16. Shery, these are great! Whenever you play around with newsprint, I know I’m going to be awed!

  17. These are absolutely wonderful!!!

  18. I just love how you can make each card so unique and beautiful. Nicely done! Thank you for sharing and for participating in our challenge!

    Cindy DT TTCRD

  19. Fabulous cards, Shery! I think the first one is my favorite.

  20. Your doily cards are so beautiful. I hardly have ever used a doily but I could not resist trying my hand at using one on my card. If I do use a doily, usually it is a die cut type and not the frail ones that one buys in the stores. If yours has the adhesive already on them, that is certainly a great asset. I had problems trying to get mine to stay on a card.

  21. Beautiful cards thanks for joining us at creative moments challenge xxxx

  22. ALL of your Doily cards are BEAUTIFUL! But I will have to say the last one (linked to the Mod Squad Blog Challenge) is my MOST favorite! Look at all of those gorgeous details and accents. YOWZA!!! Your card is so much more ‘than just a note’. Thanks so much for finding the time to play along in the Doily Challenge this week at The Mod Squad Blog!

