Paper craft project no. 296: Joyeux Noel CAS card + video tutorial

We have a new challenge at Time Out Challenges! In the next couple of weeks, we’re doing Home Sweet Home, a photo inspiration challenge with a homely twist. Joining us this time around as guest designer is Toni of Frankie Helps Craft. I hope you’ll check out her card, as well as the cards by the Time Out girls, so you can see how we each got inspired by the photo.

Photo source: The Swenglish Home

For my card, I went with a taupe brown recycled card base to mimic the kraft/brown/rustic feel in the inspiration photo. I created the background by repeatedly stamping the poinsettia in gingerbread chalk ink, masking as I went. I also stamped it onto a pre-cut diecut and then colored with Chameleon Color Tones alcohol markers. I love these markers! I only used 2 markers (RD4 and GR3) to color the poinsettia – I much prefer coloring this way over using multiple pens to create shadings and/or gradients. Here’s a short video (4 minutes, 23 seconds) showing how I put this card together. Thanks for watching!

[youtube:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQNao1vYbRE%5D

I’m linking up my card to the following fun challenges: Creative Card Crew #74 – Christmas Joy; Christmas Cards All Year ‘Round – No Patterned Paper; and Dream Valley Challenge #94 – Getting Ready for Christmas.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 296: Joyeux Noel CAS card + video tutorial”

  1. I come here cause I see your lovely DT card Shery
    I love the repeated flower behind the main image as it is the same color with the photo inspiration
    and I adore your coloring Shery
    its stunning..Adorable card you made as DT
    and wishing you like to visiting my Time out challenge card too..I know you must be busy…prepare tomorrow the stamplorations new sketch post..
    I will send my application to be DT on your digi images hope you like my card then..
    hugs, Monika

  2. Fabulous card thanks for joining us at CCC xx Jan

  3. Love this card. That oh-so-subtle BG and that bold bloom. Fanstastic coloring.

  4. Gorgeous design Shery. You really are a master at one layer cards … and masking!! :) Love the soft neutral backdrop for your beautiful red poinsettia. Those pens are really amazing. Love how you can have different depths of colour. Will have to look into those … more things for my wish list :) Loll xx

  5. Love the striking contrast between the coloured flower and the rustic feeling stamped background – fantastic card!

  6. That BG looks so great! (A lot of stamping on your card…) It really gives the feeling from the photo! And your colouring looks great! Hope you enjoy a fun sunday and feel allright…, Gerrina

  7. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

  8. That lovely poinsettia really pops against the fabulous background, Shery … wonderful! Anita :)

  9. Beautiful Christmas card Shery, I love the pretty background it goes perfectly with the Poinsettia flower. Thank you for playing along with our Challenge at Christmas Cards All Year Round. We would love to see you again … Anet DTx

  10. Love your background, Shery – your stamping is perfect! Your colouring is great….I am enjoying playing with my chameleon pens but still need lots of practice :) I like that you only need a few to get lots of shades and depth but am still getting a hang of the blending!

  11. Wow, the background on your card is amazing!! I’ve never used chalk ink before, it looks incredible. And you did such a brilliant job colouring the flower. Awesomeness!

  12. Shery, I love this card so much that I may need to just CASE it! Why didn’t I think of this! :-). Just gorgeous! :-)

  13. Great coloring, Shery, really amazing! I can’t wait for the pre-cut die cuts… They’ll be perfect!!! Fab bg and a very stylish card. xxx

  14. Oh I love the stamped background on your card and your coloring is amazing!

  15. Wonderful background so perfectly masked and 2 colours for the flower…that is some awesome colouring x

