Paper craft project no. 293: So thankful mixed media card

2014-11-1 So thankful MMM

We’ve got a new challenge at Mixed Media Mojo. This month, our theme is “Thanks/Thankful”. Stop by the blog to see the beautiful projects my team mates created!

To create my mixed media card, I watercolored yellow and orange Inktense blocks on my card base (140-lb cold-press watercolor paper) and then stamped the trendy leaves in Memento ink (morocco). On a watercolor panel (3″ by 4.5″), I stamped my daisies and watercolored various Distress inks on the panel and daisies (barn door, fired brick, spiced marmalade, wild honey, crushed olive, vintage photo). I also painted the daisies with a thin coat of pearl red Twinkling H2Os to give them a little shimmer. I also applied and blended water soluble oil pastels along the edges of the daisies to give them some depth/dimension. I applied whipped spackle over a honeycomb stencil and then rubbed gold champagne and mango Gelatos. I rubbed licorice Gelatos on the edges of the panel and then stamped the sentiment before adhering the panel to my card base.

[I’ve got another mixed media card posting in about 6 hours. It’s a Christmas card but I used similar techniques on the panel. I’ve got a video of how I put that card together so check back again in a few hours. Here’s that post with the video tutorial.]

I’m linking up this card to these fun challenges: Brown Sugar #118 – Anything Goes; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes; and Fussy and Fancy Challenge #126 – Thankful.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 293: So thankful mixed media card”

  1. So cute card.Thanks for playing with us at Fussy & Fancy challenge.
    Nathalie

  2. Such a bright, cheery card. Thank you for joining in the Fussy & Fancy Friday Challenge this time.

    Hugs, Vannessa
    F & FF DT

  3. so cute card. Thanks for playing with us at Fussy & Fancy challenge.

  4. Gorgeous colours Shery!! Love the design and the added texture from the paste … amazing! Loll xx

  5. Gorgeous card, wonderfully designed, thanks for joining us at Brown Sugar this week.

  6. Beautiful! (Love those colours!) Hugs, Gerrina

  7. What a beauty, Shery! Love the seasonal colors, they make me smile! Thanks for joining us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

  8. Your card is absolutely beautiful. Love the colors and the beautiful daisies. Thanks for joining us at Fussy and Fancy Friday Challenges! Hugs, Ivonne

  9. This is very pretty and you made it look so easy to do. Wonderful techniques and execution. I’m thinking about getting some Gelatos now…..

  10. Love your colors and fantastic layering Shery! Always so lovely!~kim

