Paper craft project no. 292: Merry Christmas CAS card + mixed media Christmas tag

2014-10-30 CAS Merry Christmas

I missed the last couple challenges at Less is More and all week I’ve been wanting to play in the current challenge, Recipe Week #195 – Newsprint. Found 10 minutes to squeeze this card in. I stamped the Christmas bells on gift wrapping paper that has a newsprint design and fussy cut it. I stamped the bells again on scrap cardstock, colored just the ribbon, poinsettia leaves, and berries with Chameleon Color Tones alcohol markers, and then cut out the bells. I paper-pieced this onto the newsprint bells. I stamped the snowflakes in HA soft pool ink before adhering the bells. I also stamped the sentiment along the bottom. I gave the berries some sparkle by applying a bit of crystal stickles on them and the card is done. Clean and simple, and best of all — quick! :o)

I’m entering my card to the following fun challenges: Festive Friday #43 (I was inspired by the bows/ribbons and red in the photo); Addicted to Stamps and More #119 – CAS (entry #2); Aud Sentiments #118 – 2- or 3-Word Sentiment; and Christmas at Sweet Stampin’ – Snowflakes.

Oh, and it’s my turn today to share a spotlight project at the STAMPlorations blog. I created several one layer mixed media Christmas tags and I’m sharing one of those tags. I’ve got a step-by-step photo tutorial here.

And lastly, I’m having a design team call for a new challenge that starts on January 6. If you enjoy making one layer cards and Christmas cards, please check it out here. If you know someone who’d be interested, please pass the info along and thank you in advance! :o)

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 292: Merry Christmas CAS card + mixed media Christmas tag”

  1. Love your poinsettia tag. It has great richness and depth. And your sweet bells look fab in their printed livery with the tartan bow and the snowflake background. It’s delightful to see you playing along with the CASSettes this month with this pretty card. Hugs, Lesley

  2. Love your card, looks fab.
    Thank you for sharing at Christmas at Sweet Stampin this month, Wedgie xxx

  3. Love the newsprint bells Shery. Fabulous design with the snowflake stamped background … LOVE all the white space :) Your Christmas tag is amazing. Love the colours!! Loll xx

  4. Fabulous card! Looks like another stamp set that I need! The bells are brilliant and work so well with newsprint!
    Elaine

  5. A gorgeous and classy Christmas make Shery and great use of the newsprint.
    Sorry I didn’t get to you last week with being away but thanks for joining the challenge.
    Sarah xx
    Less is More

  6. Love this newsprint bells. Great design, Thank you for sharing at ATSM.

  7. Fabulous design for the bells xx thank you for joining our current challenge over at http://audsentimentschallengeblog.blogspot.co.uk/
    Sandie (Aud Sentiments DT)
    http://fairytaledaydream.blogspot.com/

  8. Classic, simple layout, but it packs a visual punch! So glad you joined us at Festive Firday!

  9. Love this design fabulous card.Thank you for joining us at Aud Sentiments challenge good luck Ginny ♥

  10. GORGEOUS, Shery! Clean and simple, as well as pretty and classy! The newsprint bells paired with the colourful ribbon, holly and snowflakes…swoon-inducing! Thank you for sharing this gem at ATSM!
    ~c

  11. Love this CAS card! I like how you put the text on the bells. I have yet to ink this stamp up. I really need to! Thanks for joining us over at Festive Friday! :-)

  12. Love this, Shery – those bells are on my wishlist and look extra cool in newsprint! How do you like your Chameleon pens? I just got mine and am enjoying playing with them. Great CAS design. I’m off to check your mixed media tag :)

  13. Shery what a super CAS card the sentiment looks great to use with the newsprint
    Thank you so much for joining us this week at Less is More
    Anne
    LIM Designer

  14. First of all, I already commented on how stunning that tag is, but I”ll say it again. So much richness and depth all in one place!

    Secondly, thank you very much for you sweet and supportive comment. I definitely felt like I could use a hug after creating that card, but the outpouring of kindness has been incredible!

  15. Shery, this card just ‘pops’ ! Love your design !!

  16. Lovely Christmas bells card Shery, they look great stamped on newsprint!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

