Paper craft project no. 288: Thankful tag

2014-10-26 Thankful Tag 613 Avenue Create

Hello and welcome to another challenge week at 613 Avenue Create! It’s Anything Goes again with the optional twist of Bags, Tags, Boxes & More! I used an image provided by our sponsor, Bugaboo Stamps, to create this fun Thanksgiving themed tag. I printed the image on white cardstock. Because I know I’m bound to screw up coloring the image, I printed 4 of this cute girl on the sheet.

I’m still getting used to the Chameleon markers, but I am slowly getting the hang of coloring with them and I actually find them easier to use than other alcohol markers. There is definitely a learning curve involved, but you can’t really overcome that curve without practice! And practice I did — I screwed up coloring on 3 of the 4 images on my sheet (my blending wasn’t right, or my layers didn’t look good). On the last image, I managed to color everything except the hat without any problem. I didn’t want to start all over again so I went back to the other images, colored the hats, picked the one that looked best, fussy cut it, and then paper-pieced it onto the 4th image.

Because I have just the primary set (blue, yellow, red, black, and green) + a couple of neutrals (br2, br5, and bisque) to work with, I had to improvise when it came to coloring the girl’s apron and hat. So to come up with orange, I laid down the yellow first and then applied the red over it. Same thing I did with the tofurkey (I’m not a meat-eater so I’m sayin’ that turkey isn’t a real turkey, okay?) — I laid down the yellow first and then applied light brown (br2) over it.

As for the tag, I blended Pumice Stone, Vintage Photo, and Brushed Corduroy before stamping the trendy fall leaves in Memento inks (Rhubarb Stalk, Morocco, and Tangelo) and “thankful“. I also added a black sticker stitch along the bottom. I adhered my Thanksgiving girl to the tag with foam tape and finished the tag with ribbon and jute twine. Here’s a close up of the tag:

2014-10-26 Thankful Tag

I’d like to enter my tag to the following fun challenges: Addicted to Stamps and More #118 – Holiday (mine’s for Thanksgiving); Hiding In My Craftroom #171 – Any Holiday; Sweet Stampin’ – Anything But A Card; and Simon Says Monday Challenge – Anything Goes.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 288: Thankful tag”

  1. Such a fun card!! LOVE the image you have used and the colouring is fab too!!
    Thanks for joining us at Hiding in my Craft Room
    Cheers Jennie DTM
    Jenscrapstoo

  2. Lovely tag.

    Thanks for sharing at Sweet Stampin’.

    Susan

  3. What a great project! Your coloring is amazing!
    Thanks for sharing at Hiding in My Craft Room!
    Samantha
    –HIMCR DT
    Designs by Sammy

  4. Fab tag.Thanks for joining us at Sweet Stampin’
    Cass xx

  5. Your turkey looks good enough to eat, Shery. Love the colouring. Thanks for joining us at ATSM this week and have a lovely day! hugs Monika xxx

  6. Love the warm, rich colours on your Thanksgiving tag. Super image and the colouring is fab! Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  7. Great tag Shery. And great job with the new markers. Always fun to learn something new, but having just primary colours means that there is a lot more involved than just getting the blending right — way to go! Sweet image … the “tofurkey” looks delicious :) Thanks for joining us at ATS&M. Loll xx

  8. This is a lovely tag- she is colored beautifully and she’s serving up dinner just right! Thanks for joining us this week at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  9. Shery – this tag just leaps off the page and grabs my attention! Wonderful bold autumn colors! And that is definitely tofu – doesn’t look like turkey to me! I was thinking, you could even make these as name plates for Thanksgiving… tie the tag around the napkin or around the stem of a glass at each place setting. Hmmmmmm…..
    ~ginny
    RubberMAD

  10. Fabulous stamping, Shery! The tag is darling. Thank you for sharing your work with us this week for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. ~Michelle
    http://www.michellezerull.blogspot.com

  11. Such an adorable image, Shery! Your coloring is just wonderful! Love the leaves/background…beautifully done! So happy you could join us at ATS&M!

  12. This is soooo sweet! I love the background you created! kathy/DT member 613 Ave Create

  13. Fab bookmark, love your colouring.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Sweet Stampin this week, Wedgie xxx

