Paper craft project no. 287: Believe you can one layer card

2014-10-23 OLC Believe you can TO

Guess what? Two weeks have flown by so it’s time for a brand new challenge at Time Out Challenges! This time around, we’re getting inspired by this phrase: Birds of a feather flock together. Use the entire phrase as a starting point, or just pick one or two words — your call. Your project can be anything you like, not just a card. We’d love to see your Inspired by Words projects so don’t be shy about adding them to the TO gallery/linky! This time we’ve got the super-creative Jill V. of My Life in Paper guest designing, and you should see her awesome take on this fortnight’s challenge! And my lovely TO teamies created beautiful projects as well…come see our project parade, be inspired, and play along :o)

I went with a one layer card and focused on “feather” in the phrase. Sounds pretty simple, right? Not entirely. This is attempt #3 because the first 2 attempts were stamping disasters.

Attempt #1: I dropped the acrylic block with the inked feather stamp right smack in the middle of the card just as I was stamping the last feather. I blame it on the tripod for when I’m shooting videos. I leaned over too far and I hit my forehead on the protruding bar for attaching my video camera. That’s what I get for being too lazy to put the thing away when I’m not shooting videos. Stunned me silly (I saw stars) that I dropped the block onto my card :o)

Attempt #2:  To transition from one color to the next, I inked the feather in two colors. So when I was transitioning from orange (tangelo) to red (morocco), it wasn’t after I had stamped the darn feather that I saw that I had switched the two colors. I gave myself an imaginary face-palm as soon as I realized my mistake. No one to blame but me for this goof-up, because I refuse to be sensible and do a test stamp on scrap first. DH has suggested that many, many times before, and each time, I give him a cheeky response: “I stamp dangerously,” and he’d roll his eyes. I know he’s right, but then I think I’m allowed to have my own method of madness…and again, I stamp dangerously ;o)

Linking this autumn feathers card to the following fun challenges: One-Layer Simplicity #8 – Turning to Fall and Crafty Sentiments – Use a Sentiment.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

Supplies: Stamps – Vignette: Trendy Feathers, Typografia by STAMPlorations; Inks – Memento Tuxedo Black, Dandelion, Tangelo, Morocco, Rhubarb Stalk; Stenci – The Crafter’s Workshop; Paper – Neenah

8 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 287: Believe you can one layer card”

  1. Rich, vibrant and gorgeous, Shery … dangerous stamping is always a good way to go! Anita :)

  2. Lovely card you did with the variety of colors used with your stamp. I love how you transitioned the colors on top and bottom. And the sentiment is beautiful. Thank you for joining us at Crafty Sentiments Challenge.
    Deborah GDT

  3. You keep stamping dangerously, Shery:) This is a great card – I love the blend of colours on the beautiful feathers!

  4. This is beautiful, love the colour transition and wonderful sentiment, thanks for joining us at Crafty Sentiments this week. Jac x

  5. Gorgeous card Shery … you are not alone at having brain blips when it comes to stamping. As for the tripod — ouch!! I have done that also :) I now have it packed away when not in use for my own safety! :) Loll xx

  6. Oh you are not alone Shery. I think we could have a show/blog with blogging bloopers! Love, love, love the end result.

  7. Great card and fun post, Shery! We have sometimes discussed about the differencies in our characters and here we have another one again: I practice on printer paper A LOT and am terrified to stamp “dangerously”. :) The inking on this looks amazing.

  8. I must stamp dangerously then as I don’t try out my stamping first! Best to stamp and go and I cover up where I can!! Your third card is perfect and the changing colours is what I noticed first….stunning. And I like the subtle stencil at the bottom x

