Paper craft project no. 280: Thanks mixed media card

2014-10-09 Thanks - TO

It’s time for a new challenge at Time Out Challenges. This time around, we’re doing CASE with Your Own Twist. We CASE a card by our featured designer and then put our own twist — it’s that simple. This time around, we’re CASE-ing a card by the awesome Heather Telford! Heather is one of my favorite card-makers. In fact, she’s one of the first card-makers I started following when I started my blog over a year ago. Below is Heather’s beautiful card. Check out the blog to see what the rest of the Time Out girls created for this challenge. We have the lovely Carol of Just Me: C as our guest designer.

Below is Heather’s beautiful card that the Time Out girls CASEd for this challenge:

Looking at Heather’s card, I’m guessing she used the watercolor stamping technique for the leaves — wet-on-wet and then stamping again once the previous layers are dry — and then sponging ink over the area. So I was inspired to create a similar card with an autumn feel and doing some watercolor stamping and layering. I used Memento inks, Distress inks, and VersaMagic chalk inks for stamping. I gave it my own twist by adding a couple other media: Brusho powders and Inktense blocks. Instead of a die-cut sentiment, I went with a stamped one.

On watercolor paper, I watercolored different Distress inks (mustard seed, barn door, spiced marmalade, faded jeans, and broken china). Next, I stamped some leaves (from the upcoming Trendy Leaves set by STAMPlorations) in Memento inks, first spritzing with water before stamping to get a painted/watercolor effect. Once the first layer of leaves is dry, I stamped over them again (without spritzing water) slightly offset. I sprinkled some Brusho powders over the area, sprayed a bit more with water and then tilted the panel to spread the colors. Stamped the leaves again until I was happy with the look. I stamped the sentiment in black and then took the red and orange Inktense blocks to create spatters. I matted the panel on green textured card stock before mounting it on my card base.

Linking up my card to these fun challenges: Crafting Musketeers Challenge #18 – Autumn Colors; Ladybug Crafts October Challenge – Autumn and/or Halloween; Shopping Our Stash #172 – Fall/Autumn Colors; Addicted to Stamps and More #116 – Anything Goes; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Use Watercolors; and Cards in Envy – Autumn Leaves Challenge.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

28 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 280: Thanks mixed media card”

  1. nice colours,thank you for playing along at carfting musketeers from Anthony Perry-Paterson DT.

  2. so lovely!!!Thanks for sharing your card with us at Cards in Envy! :)

  3. I popped over to see the video and [disappointment] no video! I love the soft effect you achieved~

  4. The vivid colors of your card are gorgeous! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at Cards in Envy!

  5. Wow Shery. That is a gorgeous card. Love the artsy look… and the colors are so pretty!

  6. Wonderful card, love the rich colours and it captures Autumn beautifully.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Luv
    Debby

  7. Beautiful! I love this technique and never thought about using mixed media for cards! Your cards are beautiful! Thanks for sharing with us at Cards in Envy!

  8. Truly gorgeous! I love how you inked up this colorful leaf background, Shery! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Watercolor” Challenge!

  9. This is stunning! All those layers of water color and over-stamping give such amazing results. Wow.

    Thanks for joining us at Shopping Our Stash!

  10. Wonderfully rich colours, Shery … such a lovely sense of depth and dimension … it feels as though I could move those leaves aside to see what’s beyond them! Anita :)

  11. Beautiful, I love the vibrant colour tones xx Thank you for joining us over at http://craftingmusketeers.blogspot.co.uk/
    Sandie (Crafting Muskateers DT)
    http://fairytaledaydream.blogspot.com/

  12. This is so amazing!! What brilliant techniques you used (something I’ve never tried) and the affect is truely artistic. The blend of colours is so beautiful and its a perfect CASE of Heather’s card.

  13. Awesome cards, Shery! You captured light just beautifully – especially in your second card! Those leaves stamps are gorgeous! Thanks for playing with us at ATSM!

  14. Gorgeous!! Love the leaves, the colours…just fab! Thanks for joining the crew at Shopping Our Stash this week for the “Most Colourful Time of the Year” challenge!!

  15. Shery, the rich fall colors on your card just POP! WOW, this is gorgeous!!!

  16. This is gorgeous, Shery, it makes me want to ‘CASE your CASE’!

  17. Absolutely fabulous CASE of Heather’s card. I love the deep, rich colours on your card – great work. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  18. Wow so artistic and stunning :)

  19. Love the touch of blue and the splatter (aahh, splatter!) on this fabulous card, Shery!

  20. Wow… Just wow! I cannot believe how incredibly gorgeous this effect is. It looks like something out of a misty fall morning. Seriously stunning, Shery!

  21. So beautiful, Shery! And this really makes me wait anxiously for my leaves set. :) Sandie is right, this should be framed… All the techniques you used look simply amazing. Wow!

  22. Wow!! This is gorgeous Shery! Love the misty look around your beautiful stamped leaves … and the colours are STUNNING! Loll xx

  23. Love your card and the inspiration card. Looking forward to checking out all of them on the challenge site!

  24. Great card , I love it , thank you for joining us over at the Crafting Musketeers this month, Fran (DT) xxx

  25. Wow! The deep, rich colors are so fabulous Shery.

  26. This card is an absolute delight Shery. The colours are so vibrant and yet so rich, what amazing skill you have…this should be framed xx

