Paper craft project no. 276: Life loves the passionate

2014-10-01 Life loves the passionate MMCC

This month at The Mixed Media Card Challenge, we’d love to see cards with a vintage theme with or without the optional element (key)! Easy peasy! You ought to check out the blog and see the gorgeous vintage-inspired mixed media cards that the girls in my design team made! After you’re done looking, how about creating one and sharing with us? The challenge is open until October 25 so you can’t say you don’t have time ;o)

For my mixed media card, I started with this beautiful paper with a vintage ledger design from 7Gypsies. I stamped some sunflowers and artsy words (STAMPlorations) and keys (Stampabilities) in VersaMagic chalk inks before sponging Jumbo Java chalk ink all over. Then I randomly applied rub-ons from 7Gypsies before distressing and inking the edges. For some 3D texture,  I added bits of drywall tape and applied rustic hinge Distress paint to blend it into the background. I took two ATCs with vintage designs (The Paper Studio) and did the same thing — rubbed on rub-ons, stamped, distressed, inked. On one of the ATCs, I decoupaged this lovely vintage girl. I have a couple of containers full of vintage images that I had printed at Staples (color laser copy images are great for decoupaging because the inks don’t bleed and the print is smooth and vibrant) and I found this girl — she was the perfect focal image. The sentiment is a sticker (I cut it out) from Cosmo Cricket’s Tiny Text (I love using them in my ATCs!). I found some scrap ribbon (Pink Paislee), doily (SRM Stickers), and die-cut flower (K&Company), so all I needed to do was layer everything and put this baby to bed :o) Oh, the card base I used is 120# (480 gsm) premium heavy recycled taupe brown card stock. I love this card stock!

I’m linking up my card to these fun challenges: Artistic Inspirations #111 – Anything Goes; Card Mania Challenge #56 – Doily; My Craft Creations – Anything Goes; and The Pink Elephant Challenge #270 – Anything Goes.

Thank you for stopping by!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 276: Life loves the passionate”

  1. Gorgeous vintage/mixed media card. Thanks for sharing it at The Pink Elephant Anything Goes Challenge! Come play again soon! Nance, DT

  2. Fab vintage image and layers, Shery!

  3. Wow, beautiful layers and beautiful vintage; so good combined! Hugs, Gerrina

  4. Stunning! The photo is gorgeous and I just love all the background details.

  5. WOW!! Amazing card Shery. Love all the layers of your background … and the vintage girl is so beautiful. Fabulous, fabulous card. Loll xx

  6. Gorgeous Shery!! LOVE the image and the BG is awesome!

  7. GORGEOUS! you do vintage sooo well!

  8. Just smirking as your blog name appeared above this layered lovely! Vintage? Yeppers!

  9. Wow Shery your card is awesome! Terrfic card theme. You are fabulous at combining so many elements in such a fluid style. Thanks for the inspiration!

  10. Now that’s called Vintage !! frome beautiful BG to fabulous image a perfect blend :)

