Paper craft project no. 275: Autumn paints…

2014-10-01 Autumn paints in colors MMM

We’ve got a new challenge over at Mixed Media Mojo. We’d love to see projects with a Halloween or Fall theme, with a twist: use fabric. Do stop by the blog and check what my teammates created and then come play with us!

I went with a fall-inspired project. I started with a 7.5″ by 9″ watercolor paper that I had used a few months ago to do some Gelli plate printing. I had about a dozen backgrounds done and I picked one where I used autumn colors. I simply built up my layers from there — alternating between stamping and painting. I stamped the sunflowers on tissue paper, cut them out and decoupaged them using gel medium. I used Distress paints and white PITT artist pen on the sunflowers to make them blend with the background. I used drywall tape for added texture. On tissue paper and with a black Big Brush pen (Faber-Castell), I wrote the quote. I decoupaged it the same way I decoupaged the sunflowers. I added burlap ribbon on the top and bottom before matting the whole thing and framing it. I took it out of the frame to take a photo.

Hooking up my project to the following fun challenges: Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes and All Crafts Challenge – Anything But A Card.

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be back later today to share a mixed media card for The Mixed Media Card Challenge!

~Shery

 

6 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 275: Autumn paints…”

  1. Amazing project Shery. LOVE the autumn colors and beautiful sunflowers. And the texture from the drywall tape and burlap … WOW! Loll xx

  2. Those colors are so pretty together and I really like the sentiment. Awesome job! ~Niki

  3. Wonderful canvas Shery! I love sunflowers, it is always exciting to see your flowers creations and extraordinary detail! ~kim

  4. Love that fiery autumn background, Shery!

  5. Gorgeous card Shery! The colours are so lovely and vibrant and I love the texture from the burlap.
    Thanks for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Mandy xx

  6. Love the texture and colours in this. The colours are so rich yet seem to jump off the page…rich yet vibrant! And the added texture makes me want to touch the card and gives such ‘real’ feel of Autumn. Your talent and creativity just never stop amazing me!!

