Paper craft project no. 273: Hippie chick

2014-09-28 Hippie girl 613 Avenue Create

Popping by to share my project for this week’s challenge over at 613 Avenue Create. It’s Anything Goes with the optional twist to use a heart. We have two awesome sponsors this week: Lacy Sunshine and Oak Pond Creations. Come stop by the blog to see the fun projects my teammates created!

For my project, I used a delightful image called Eleanor hippie chick from Lacy Sunshine. I gotta tell ya, I’m totally diggin’ this ’60s girl — right up my alley. She was super fun to color with my Spectrum Noir markers. I figured a colorful, psychedelic background is perfect for my hippie chick so I sprinkled different Brusho colors onto mixed media paper, spritzed with water to activate the colors, and then laid a 4″ by 5.25″ white card stock panel over. I dried the panel with my heat gun and then I sponged yellow PanPastel over the area. Stamped some hearts along the bottom, added some fun stickers at the top, and mounted it onto my card base. I used foam tape to adhere Eleanor, after I’d fussy cut her.  This is one of those cards that I ended up falling in love with afterwards because it was so cool ;o)

Hooking up my card to the following fun challenges: Come and Get It – Anything Goes With Water (I used water on the Brusho to activate the powders); Fairytale Stampers #45 – Flowers/Ribbon (my image has flowers on her hair and pants); One Stitch at a Time #220 – Anything Goes with a Flower; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes; and Just Us Girls #260 – Photo Week (my project isn’t autumn-inspired but I did use the colors found in it — shades of reds, yellows, oranges, browns, greens).

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

Supplies: Stamps – Eleanor Hippie Chick by Lacy Sunshine, Graphic Squares by STAMPlorations; Inks/Media – VersaMagic Chalk Ink, Brusho, PanPastel, Spectrum Noir; Other – SRM Stickers

18 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 273: Hippie chick”

  1. A wonderful card. Thanks for joining us at fairytale Stampers.
    hugs
    Andrea

  2. I love, love, love the hippie chick! I was once a hippie chick myself…long ago! Thank you so much for playing along with the Stitcy Angels Design Team!

    Hugs,

    Chriss – DT – One Stitch At A Time

  3. Nice card Sherry. I love the background and colours. Thank you for joining us at Come and Get It this week. Judy DT

  4. What a bright fun and cool card. Love the painting you did for your background, looks so awesome. And the coloring of your image is just beautiful. :D
    Thank you for joining us at One Stitch At A Time Challenge.
    Deborah DT

  5. Love this bright and groovy card. Thank you for joining us this challenge at OSAAT and good luck. Hugs NIKKI DT

  6. WOW! What a fabulous creation Shery! LOVE your coloring … just perfect for this adorable image! Sorry I’m so late coming to comment … been a crazy craft show weekend and I’m still trying to recover! LOL!
    I’m so happy to be a part of this talented team at 613 Avenue Create … looking forward to seeing more of your creations and get to know you better! Hugs from Ohio!

  7. Fabulous card, Shery! She looks like she’s at a festival :). Love the Brusho background.

  8. Gorgeous card – great image and background.
    Thanks for playing along at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Hugs,
    Caryn.

  9. Your colouring is fabulous! Thank you for sharing with Fairytale Stampers – Myrna (DT)

  10. Shery, this is awesome! I love that hippie chick and your background is so “groovy”! Way to rock it! Thanks so much for playing with us at JUGS!

  11. I absolutely love the background on this fun card! It drew me right in! Your hippie chick is suitably fun and funky! So excited to be on Team A with you, Shery, and looking forward to lots of inky good times!

  12. Think it is a cool card too! Had me thinking of the Manga-dolls my daughter draws all the time! I’ll show her the BG, maybe she will make one like this… Hugs, Gerrina

  13. Wow what a fab image and such a creative background bursting with colour x

  14. Wowza – Hippie Chick on acid! Color everywhere! I love how you made that background Shery – super fun card!
    ~ginny
    RubberMAD

  15. Love the look!!!! :-) Very artsy background, super flower power! Have a lovely day! Hugs xxxx

  16. Great card, Shery. The background is very nice. I gotta tell you that this was a different interpretation of what was in my brain for the challenge and I love how you interpreted it. Thanks for thinking outside my brain and showing me a different angle. Thank you for joining us at Come And Get It challenge. Bunny DT

  17. Fabulous image, and I love that gorgeous background. The colors scream Fall! Thanks so much for joining us this week at Just Us Girls!

  18. Awesome card! Thanks for joining in with JUGS this week!

    ps – I am watching your videos OMG girlfriend you create such amazing one layered cards!!

