Paper craft project no. 271: Merry merry merry Christmas OLC [with video tutorial]

2014-09-25 Merry merry merry Christmas OLC wm

Hello! It’s time for a new challenge at Time Out Challenges! For the next couple of weeks, we’re doing the ‘Theme Challenge with a Twist”. This time around, we’ve got a really, really, really hard theme and twist. It’s so hard that I don’t think you guys are going to want to play…The theme: STAMPING! The twist: APPLES! Told you it’s a hard challenge ;o) Pardon my witty sarcasm [or is it sarcastic wit?], friends. I haven’t been exactly bouncy these last couple of weeks due to allergies [I’m starting to feel better, though]. Anyway, I’d really love if you’d play with us at Time Out. If your project has the twist (apples), you could win a stamp set from our sponsor, Avocado Arts. And we’ve got a super-creative guest designer joining us: Loll of Stamping with Loll! So I hope you’ll stop by the blog and see the projects that Loll and my teammates made! :o)

I went with the theme and skipped the twist and made a one layer Christmas card. This one was quick to make: under 8 minutes. I’ve been enjoying my PanPastel Colors and using them in my projects (I’ve got a couple more to show tomorrow). For this card, I stamped the poinsettia (Holiday Sketches: Christmas Flower) several times with VersaMark watermark ink, masking as I went along and then colored the entire card with magenta and magenta extra dark PanPastel to create a sort of reverse emboss resist (I think) — the colors are darker on the areas with the watermark ink and lighter in between. The sentiment is from the Sentiment Builders: Christmas & New Year .

Here’s a video of how I made this card. It’s really short (2 minutes, 16 seconds), in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by a fun and playful rag-time ditty (courtesy of Kevin McLeod of incompetech.com). Hope you enjoy it :o)

You can also watch my video directly on YouTube here.

Linking up my card to these fun challenges: Crafting from the Heart #37 – Anything Goes; Simon Says Monday Challenge – Stamps or Stencil; Stamps & Fun = Creativity #217 – Self-Made Background; and Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra for September.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 271: Merry merry merry Christmas OLC [with video tutorial]”

  1. Ooo . . . this is so pretty! Love that background with all the beautiful poinsettias. Thanks for playing with CHNCC2.

  2. So lovely. Thank you for sharing your lovely crafting for my CHNC challenge extra for September – hope to see you again soon x

  3. This card is stunning and the selfmade background is fantastic.
    Thank you for playing at SFC.
    Francy

  4. A lovely card, as per usual. I love stopping by here because you always have great tutorials on how to make beautiful cards in a matter of minutes!

  5. Lovely card! Thanks for the video and showing how to use those Pan Pastels. I’ve been wondering about them. I may “need” them now! LOL!

  6. Your card is gorgeous! Love the beautiful stamping and fabulous colors. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. :)

  7. Wow, this is so striking, Shery … fabulous masking, gorgeous blending! Feel better soon … Anita :)

  8. You are a master of one layer beauties :) Love the color !

  9. Fabulous stamping, masking and colours – I am always amazed by your one layer creations!

  10. Beautiful card Shery. The pan pastels are gorgeous and they blend so beautifully. Geesh … another thing to add to my every growing wish list :) (not that I’m complaining!) lol! Great tutorial! Loll xx

  11. I love this card Shery. You are the queen of masking!! Great colors. I hope you feel well soon. Many healing hugs from Finland! xxx

  12. Super non-traditional card! Love the pink… I find it allways so quick and easy to work with the PanPastels… Hugs, Gerrina

  13. Absolutely gorgeous stamping Shery. I love the deep, rich colors.

  14. I hope those allergies sort themselves out soon and while they are getting better see if they can do something about your humour!! This card is just fabulous, you know I am a fan of pink at Xmas and I will be back to watch this video as I want to know how you made this beauty x

