Paper craft project no. 269: Dream Believe Imagine mixed media block [with video tutorial]

2014-09-18 Dream Believe Imagine Autumn Mixed Media Block-wm

My projects the last couple of weeks have either been with an autumn or Christmas theme. Because I am so done with summer! :o) Anyway, I have a container full of wood blocks in varying sizes and this week, I dipped into that container and got a little crazy with them. Here’s wood block #1 (it’s 7″ tall, 4 1/2″ wide, and 3/4″ thick). I’m not so much into layers and embellishing, and this mixed media autumn block is just that — simple and without a lot of layers. Designer or pattern paper is wonderful to use as a background or base, as it’s an easy way to create texture without a lot of work. You can simply layer paints and other media over it, and depending on how you apply your paints, you can have the pattern showing through. (I used paper with a newsprint and grid pattern and you can see the pattern showing faintly through the layers of paints, inks, and stamps.)

Ingredients:

  • designer paper/pattern paper (The Paper Studio)
  • gel medium, gesso, modeling paste (Liquitex)
  • stencils (Plaid, The Crafter’s Workshop)
  • mustard seed, spiced marmalade, and barn door Distress Paints (Ranger)
  • midnight and sparrow Mix’d Media Inx Chox (ColorBox)
  • black Stamper’s Big Brush and white PITT artist pen (Faber-Castell)
  • tiny text stickers (Cosmo Cricket)
  • Bloom Sketches, Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds, and Vignette: Artful Flutters stamps (STAMPlorations)

This is one of those projects where it’s a lot easier for me to show rather than tell. So I’ve got a video showing how I did it from start to finish. It took me me about 45 minutes to create this mixed media block, but I managed to edit the video down to just under 8 minutes. The video is in my signature style: in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart. (If you don’t hear any music, it means YouTube isn’t done adding it.)

 You can also watch my video directly on YouTube here.

 

I’m linking my project to these 4 fun challenges: Virginia’s View Challenge #7 – Pattern Paper; Crafting for All Seasons #86 – Colors of Autumn; Creative Moments #51 – Anything Goes/Fall Colors (entry #3); Simply Create Too # 70 – Fall/Autumn (3rd entry); and Mixed Media Monthly Challenge #4 – Color Challenge (I used orange, red, and yellow — colors found on the lovely inspiration photo).

   

My project is also a reminder that there is still time to join in the Mixed Media Mojo challenge, where we have a fall theme + use paste (embossing paste, modeling paste, texture paste, etc.). The linky is open for 12 more days so plenty of time to come and play with us!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 269: Dream Believe Imagine mixed media block [with video tutorial]”

  1. OH fun! Such pretty art.

  2. this is so pretty! what a beautiful block :) Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel

  3. Fabulous mixed media project!!
    Thanks so much for playing along with us at Simply Create Too.
    Rosi x

  4. Lovely mixed media project! Love the yellows and oranges you pulled from the challenge!! Thanks for joining us in this month’s Mixed Media Monthly Color Challenge!

  5. Beautiful mixed media alteration. TFS tutorial.

  6. Adorable creation with adorable autumn colours…thanks so much for joining in our challenge of ‘colours of autumn’ and good luck in the draw…
    ♥aNNie
    {Crafting For All Seasons DT Member}

  7. Pretty mixed media card. Thanks for joining us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

  8. This is so rich and lovely! I just got my first jar of embossing paste in the mail and I can’t wait to fiddle around with it!

  9. Beautiful block! Love the texture and depth you created…wonderful video of your process!

  10. nice job great video

  11. Great warm card and those wordblocks are great! Hugs, Gerrina

  12. You never cease to amaze me! The rich and deep colors with textured background look absolutely amazing! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View Pattern Paper Challenge!

  13. Incredible!! I love the bold colors and textures :) prettiness !

  14. Another stunning project! WOW, the colours are hypnotizing!! I really love the black stamping on the vibrant background, it is just so spectacular!! :)

