Paper craft project no. 267: Thanks

2014-09-15 Thanks

It’s sketch time once again at the STAMPlorations challenge blog! We’ve got one of the fun-est and awesome-st card-makers guest designing for us: Darnell Knaus of djkardcreations! Woohoo! Check out the blog and see what she and the cool STAMPlorations girls made. And then come join in on the fun! Here’s the sketch for the next couple of weeks:

So I didn’t entirely follow the sketch and took some liberties :o) I went monochromatic in this card and gave it an autumn/fall vibe. I used my brand new Mix’d Media Chox Inx from Clearsnap/ColorBox — butternut (sorta pumpkin/dark yellow), driftwood (brown), and sparrow (dark brown) — to put together this card. First I stamped the artsy sunflower all over the card base in butternut ink (masking as I went along). On a small card stock panel, I sponged some driftwood ink, stamped the sunflower again a few times, and cut the panel in 4 rectangular pieces. I inked their edges with sparrow ink before mounting them on the card base with foam tape. I stamped the sunflower on another piece of card stock, fussy cut it, and adhered it to the panel. Next, I stamped the bold thanks sentiment in sparrow ink and finished the card by lightly inking all the edges with the same ink.

Linking up my card to the following fun challenges: Pile It On #37 – Flowers and/or Feathers; Simply Create Too #70 – Fall/Autumn; Stampavie and More #220 – Autumn Colors; Seemacrafts – Autumn; Bearly Mine September Challenge – Autumnal Color Challenge; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Make Your Own Background; and Creative Moments Challenge #51 – Anything Goes/Fall Colors.

By the way, today is the last day of the STAMPlorations September stamp release blog hop! There’s still time to party with us and win a prize! The hop starts right here.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

18 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 267: Thanks”

  1. Beautiful! I love sunflowers. Thanks for joining us for Simply Create Too Challenge #70.

  2. Wow love the Autumn colour . Thank you for joining in over at seemacrafts

  3. Really love your card, beautifully done. Thanks so much for joining us over at Bearly Mine Challenges, good luck and hope to see you again.
    ~ Denise DT ~

  4. Lovely Masking Shery I love your stamp and I love to see how you present your stamp and I love your style…I mimic the strip on my last card similar like yours..you are my inspiration with the stamplorations stamp…I adore this card…I just joining again the sketch challenge on your blog maybe you would like to see it the result…I use the Sketched Simple Gift and did fussy cut that gift :) hugs, Monika

  5. Hi Shery. I wholeheartedly agree with Sandie, you are The Queen of Masking! What I love about this card is that essentially you used only one stamp, apart from the sentiment, to create your layers and they all look so different. This is real skill!!! Love it! have a fab day! hugs Monika xxx

  6. Wow, this is a really creative way to use a stamp, beautiful card! Thanks so much for sharing at Stampavie and More Challenge!

    Hugs, Marja
    Stampavie and More DT

  7. What a beautiful card and, yes, impressive masking.

  8. Wow what a card totally up my street! I love the colour, the flower, the technique all of it. Jacqui DT Bearly Mine

  9. Verry pretty!!!! Thanks for joining in on the challenge this month on Seemacrafts. Hugs, Donalda Design Team Member

  10. Shery: Great autumn card! Thank you for joining in the fun at Simply Create Too’s “Fall Challenge #70.

    Diane
    Simply Create Too Design Team Member
    http://DianesDigitalDesigns.blogspot.com

  11. Amazing background, Shery! LOVE the colours. Beautifully done! xx

  12. Wow, that sunflower makes a fabulous background!

  13. Great take on the sketch and it’s a great simple card which is very effective. Thank you for joining us at BMD, good luck xoxox

  14. I love your bold and beautiful autumn card of thanks, Shery!! You really are so inspirational when it comes to masking and color!! Thank you so much for the shout out and the honor of joining you and the other DT members as a GD!! This is a really fun sketch!! Hugs, Darnell

  15. Gorgeous card Shery! So elegant and I love the sunflowers stamp.
    Thanks for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Mandy xx

  16. I love the variations you have made with this same sunflower stamp :) Lovely stamping !

  17. Fabulous bg stamping! I’m with Sandie – your knack of masking is amazing!

  18. I think I have a new name for you….The Queen of masking!! I am always astonished at how skilful you are at this x

