Paper craft project nos. 265: Merry Christmas one layer card

2014-09-14 OLC Merry Christmas

Who’s as addicted to inks as I am? I’ve been playing with new ink pads the last couple of days. I got me a mix of 19 Mix’d Media Inx and Chox from Clearsnap/ColorBox earlier last week because I wanted to use them in a couple of mixed media projects (both aren’t finished so I can’t show ’em just yet). I still have a long list of inks on my wish list, and I’ve hinted as much to DH that for Christmas, I wouldn’t mind at all if I got a few more ink pads inside my stocking. He doesn’t quite fully understand why I need different ink pads for stamping, but every day, I try to educate him a bit on that ;o)

Anyway, I’m back with yet another one layer card featuring a couple of the new stamp sets from STAMPlorations. I used the poinsettia from the Holiday Sketches: Christmas Flower set and the sentiments are from the Holiday Sketches: Christmas Candles. I used the same stamping technique I used in yesterday’s card here: I stamped the backside in chiffon (pink) Mix’d Media Inx and flipped the stamp over to stamp the image in schoolhouse (dark red) Mix’d Media Inks. I stamped the sentiment in black, rounded the bottom corners, and the card is done.

Linking up my card to these fun challenges: CASology #112 – Three (second entry), Fusion – Shiny Pink (I went with the inspiration photo and “colored” the poinsettias in pink), and NBUS Challenge #2 (I used new ink pads and went with option #1 Christmas; the card base is also new — I bought a ream of 100# heavy weight card stock a couple of weeks ago before I ran out of it and ran out I did the other day, so I managed to spare myself from having some serious card stock panic!) .

      Never-Before-Used-Schtuff (Stamps, Dies, EFs, etc.)

If you haven’t heard yet, we’re having a stamp release blog hop over at the STAMPlorations blog. The hop is until Monday, September 15, and there are prizes to be won, such as stamps from the new release and a $25 gift certificate to use on the STAMPlorations shop. Participating is pretty simple: just visit the stops on the hop and leave a comment :o)

*** Stops on the hop ***
Cornelia | Debra | Deepti Kylie | Maria Monika | Nonni | Shery (me!) | Shirley Vicki

Thanks so much for visiting — I so appreciate it!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project nos. 265: Merry Christmas one layer card”

  1. Pretty card! great job with all the challenges!

  2. SUPER gorgoeus, I LOVE this MUCH!!!! Thanks so much for joining us at FUSION!

  3. This is gorgeous! I love the colors!
    Thanks for joining us at FUSION!

  4. Beautiful card! Love your layers of ink! Haven’t stamped with the flat side in a while…need to add that to my list. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. Beautiful Christmas card, love your stamping and shadow style!!!

  6. Shery, this is so beautiful! What a brilliant technique to use both sides of the stamp …as a shadow and as an outline! Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

  7. Fabulous! I love that stamping technique and that poinsettia image is gorgeous! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  8. I love your bold use of the iconic poinsettias on this pretty Christmas card, Shery! I read and reread and reread again that little tip you slipped in there and I am so grateful that you shared with us!! (You know, the bit about stamping both sides of the stamp. Genius!!) Having that hint of pink behind the rich red gives this card so much added interest!! I really appreciate that you linked up with in my second NBUS Challenge!! Hugs, Darnell

  9. Love the shadow effect you get by stamping with the back of the stamp – so cool! Gorgeous card :)

  10. Super cool !! Love it, thank you for sharing with Fusion :)

