Paper craft project nos. 260/261: Joy to the world one layer card / So adorable mixed media layout [with video tutorial]

2014-09-11 OLC Joy to the world

Hello, again! I’ve got a two-fer, and this is my last post for today (Thursday), promise :o) First up is a one layer Christmas card. It’s never too early to get started on those Christmas cards and that’s what I’ve been doing the last few weeks! Before we know it, Christmas is upon us, and I don’t want to be scrambling to make cards at the last minute. One layers are my absolute favorite cards to make, then there’s the fact that I really, really suck at layering actual papers and elements! I can be as elaborate (and spend as much as an hour making it) like what I did in this card here, or be as simple as I want (and spend 10 minutes or less) like what I did in my card above.

Yup, this one took less than 10 minutes to put together using nothing but inks, stamps, markers, and good old masking. I stamped the poinsettia (Holiday Sketches: Christmas Flower) in VersaMagic red magic chalk ink. I masked it before stamping more poinsettias around it in VersaMagic sahara sand chalk ink. I stamped the sentiment (Holiday Sketches: Christmas Candles) in VersaMagic jumbo java chalk ink and created a border around with brown (EB5) Spectrum Noir alcohol marker. And the card is done. This one’s pretty easy to mass produce, and by changing colors, it can easily be made to fit the gender (or even age) of the recipient. This one here would be perfect for a guy, as the colors are neutral/masculine.

If you haven’t heard yet, we’re having a stamp release blog hop over at the STAMPlorations blog. The hop is until Monday, September 15, and there are prizes to be won. Participating is pretty simple: just visit the stops on the hop and leave a comment :o) See you there!

Linking up my one layer Christmas card to these fun challenges: Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – September Anything Goes, Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Make Your Own Background, and My Perfect Life – Festive 48 Always Anything Goes.

******

And I’ve got a second project to share: a 12″ by 12″ mixed media layout where The Adorable One (my niece Alexa) takes center stage :o) It’s my turn to share a spotlight project at STAMPlorations and instead of describing how I put this layout together, I’ve got a video to share. This layout was a fun one to make. And as usual, I was winging it the whole time because I didn’t really know what the layout was going to look like. I had my gesso, papers, photo, stickers, Gelatos, markers, and stamps out so I simply went with the flow and had fun, thinking of my adorable niece the whole time and smiling as I put this layout together :o)

Hop over to the blog to watch the video. It’s a shorty (6 minutes, 45 seconds): in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart :o)

2014-09-11 So adorable mixed media layout-wm

Linking up my mixed media layout to these fun challenges: Virginia’s View Challenge #7 – Pattern Paper/Designer Paper (used papers from Pink Paislee and Basic Grey); Not Just Cards Challenge #1 – Anything Goes; and The Mirror Crack’d #1 – Anything (Mixed Media) Goes (I used gesso, chalk inks, Gelatos, alcohol marker, drywall tape).

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project nos. 260/261: Joy to the world one layer card / So adorable mixed media layout [with video tutorial]”

  1. Great card.

    Thanks for joining us at Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra.

    Helen x

  2. I agree. Just adorable. Love the use of such striking colours in your scrapbook page.
    Angela
    Papercraft Nook

  3. I’m also a participant at The Mirror Crack’d challenge and this caught my eye. Simply lovely scrapbook page. I also enjoyed reading how you made the card, too.

  4. Thank you for sharing your lovely crafting for my CHNC challenge extra for September – hope to see you again soon x

  5. I’m amazed that this is a olc, as it has fantastic dimension. How wonderful! Thanks a lot for joining in with my Festive 48. Hope you can link up again next week. Marina http://myperfectlifeuk.blogspot.co.uk

  6. Wow – so gorgeous and cleverly done!!

  7. Hi Shery. Two amazing projects. First of all, the poinsettia card … amazing depth … your one layer cards never look one layer! Love all the dimension and texture you get from masking and stamping. Love it … and can’t wait to get my poinsettia stamp and play! :)

    Adorable niece … she’s a sweetie!! :) Love the layout and design … great colors and just plain fun! Loll xx

  8. These are both great projects! I really like your doodling! Thanks so much for playing along with the Create Your Own Background challenge on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog!

  9. Love the red poinsettia against the neutral background, Shery! Another beauty!!

  10. Shery I just ordered the poinsettia stamp and I hope do do it justice (check e-mail)…Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Create Your Own Background Challenge! AND So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View Pattern Paper Challenge!

  11. I love how the red poinsettia just pops off the background. I love how you always get so much depth on your one layer cards. Love the scrapbook page, also. Such a cute little lady and you showcased her beautifully.

  12. Gorgeous use of poinsettia!!! Your LO is awesome!!!

  13. Another clever and unique card! Gorgeous layout!

