Paper craft project no. 258: Seize the moment one layer card

For my STAMPlorations September Stamp Release Blog Hop post, go here.

2014-09-11 OLC Seize the moment

Hi! It’s time for a new challenge at Time Out Challenges. This time, it’s a super-special challenge because we’ve got 4 new super-talented ladies joining the design team! We’re also joined by a guest designer, Christine from Poppaea Cards. This fortnight, we’re doing the Home Sweet Home challenge. We have a really cool inspiration photo for you so I hope you’ll join us! Here’s the photo:

Photo source: The Swenglish Home

I took inspiration from the colors (white, brown, and black) and made a very CAS card. The 120-lb recycled taupe brown fiber card stock I got last week was the perfect card base. I stamped the brush stroke (from Celebrate Artsy) in VersaMagic cloud white chalk ink 5 times on the right side and then stamped the inspirational sentiments (from Subway Art Builders: Dare) in Ranger jet black archival ink. For a bit of interest and balance, I made a thin border strip on the left with a black alcohol marker. And the card is done. Took all of 5 minutes to make :o)

Linking up my card to these fun challenges: Cards und More #114 – Clean and Simple and Papertake Weekly – Repeat Repeat (I stamped the brush stroke 5 times).

Thanks a bunch for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 258: Seize the moment one layer card”

  1. Beautiful card! Thanks so much for sharing your talents with us at Papertake Weekly and hope you join us again soon! Hugs, Sharon

  2. Love the stamping over the brush stroke … absolutely fabulous design.

  3. Fantastic, I love the swipe of white under each sentiment and all the gorgeous fonts. It’s a very cool card.

  4. I envy your skill to make a card in 5 minutes, Shery! And with what an outcome… Very cool idea for the layout. xxx

  5. Love. love, love this!!!! Love the cardstock, love the brushstroke stamp, really love the stamped phrases!! Definitely a fave for me :)

  6. Great grungy way to use the wordblocks! And the stripe on the other side balances it so perfect! Hugs, Gerrina

  7. That’s a fab inspiration photo, and I love how you’ve interpreted it, Shery! I like the drawn border too.

  8. So very cool, Shery … the white brush strokes are fabulous against the taupe … and gorgeous with the black sentiments! Anita :)

  9. This is so smart! I love the sentiment stamps you have used, Cx

  10. stunning! Thanks for joining us at cards and more and good luck!
    Hugs,Beate

  11. Stunning card. This stamp set immediately sprang to my mind when I saw the photo inspiration – I’ll have to think of something else now!
    Elaine

  12. Oh this is fabulous! I love the subtle white against the kraft/black.

  13. Shery I absolutely love your card – the brushstrokes and sentiments are a great take on the photo!

  14. I see that brush stroke stamp every where, it sure is a winner for you!!!! And how perfect it is for this card. Great interpretation of the photo x

