Paper craft project nos. 253 / 254: Thanks / Thankful for you mixed media card

2014-09-01 Thanks

Hello again! I’m back with two more autumn-themed cards. First up is a CAS card for the STAMPlorations sketch challenge. Returning as our guest designer is the talented Carol of Just me: c. The STAMPlorations girls have certainly outdone themselves and created gorgeous projects — you gotta see them! Hope you’ll stop by the blog and enter your sketch-inspired project(s) :o)

To create my card, I masked the left and right areas with painter’s tape. I stamped the big brush stroke (Vignette: Celebrate Artsy) in three different VersaMagic chalk inks (red brick, pumpkin spice, and mango madness). Next, I cut a smaller panel and stamped the back side of the sunflower stamp (Bloom Sketches) in mango madness chalk ink all over before flipping the stamp over and stamping in red brick chalk ink. Next, I stamped the sentiment (Boxed Blooms & Bold Sentiments) in VersaMagic midnight black chalk ink. I distressed the edges of the panel, inked with red brick chalk ink, then adhered to my card base with foam tape. I drew borders with a brown colored pencil.

*****

2014-09-01 Thankful for you

My next card is for the September Challenge at The Mixed Media Card Challenge. We’re doing autumn colors with metal or leaves (or both) as an optional element. We’ve got Add A Little Dazzle offering a $15 gift certificate for the (randomly drawn) entry that has the optional element. Check out the gorgeous autumn-inspired mixed media cards that my design team created and then join us — challenge ends September 25.

To create my mixed media card, I embossed the dark brown chocolate craft metal sheet (from Add A Little Dazzle) with a TH embossing folder. I sanded the embossed areas to remove some of the brown color and give it a distressed/grunge look before adhering it to my card base. Next, I applied gesso on watercolor paper, blended Gelatos (lemon, mango, tangerine, red cherry, and gold champagne) on it, and stamped some sentiments and backgrounds (Subway Art Builders: Dare, Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds) in VersaMagic red brick chalk ink before cutting two panels out of it and distressing and inking the edges with VersaMagic gingerbread and red brick chalk inks. I also die cut some leaves (Momenta die) out of the dark brown chocolate craft metal sheet. I pounced various Adirondack alcohol inks (watermelon, sunset orange, latte, sunshine yellow, and ginger) over the leaves. I also stamped some sunflowers (Bloom Sketches)  on scrap card stock (with VersaMagic mango madness and gingerbread chalk inks) and fussy cut them. I layered all the elements, including a button, twine, and scrap burlap ribbon, onto the card. Last, I stamped the sentiment (Thankful, Grateful; Sentiment Builders: Thank You; and Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments).

Linking up my card to the following challenges: Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes (entry #4); The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #76 – Spring or Autumn; and Creative Corner Challenge – Anything Goes.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

17 Comments to “Paper craft project nos. 253 / 254: Thanks / Thankful for you mixed media card”

  1. Wow! These two cards are just gorgeous, Shery! I love the CAS design of the first, and the metal background of the second is awesome!

    Thanks for joining in at The Squirrel and the Fox!

    love Mags B x

  2. Stunning! I love what you did with the metal!

  3. Hi Shery. Both cards are amazing!!! Love the tartan strip you created using the large brush stroke, awesome colours too. Have a fabulous day! Hugs Monika xxx

  4. hi Shery! gorgeous cards, WOW…these are both amazing! so glad you played along with Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

    sparkle & shine *~*

  5. fabulous Shery!! I love your backgrounds and designs!!

  6. Both fabulous cards, Shery! I like how you used the brushstroke stamp to create a plaid background panel on the first card, and I adore the drama of the second card!

  7. I just love your MMCC card!! fabulous!

  8. Gorgeous cards Shery. LOVE the colors you’ve used for your sketch card … so perfect for fall and for your beautiful sunflower image. The mixed media card is chalk full of amazing details, dimension and texture — wow! Loll xx

  9. Both are so beautiful! LOVE your style, so happy to be on your card challenge team! I will have to go check out Stamplorations, looks like some amazing sets! You are one busy lady!

  10. Very nice layering… and the colors are rich and wonderful for fall.. Love, Light and Peace…Bonnie

  11. Awesome technique with stamping with the back of the stamp. Love both cards! xx

  12. Would have never thought about combining those colors – looks great!

  13. Look at you going all layered! Fabulous cards~~

  14. These are incredible !! I love how u create, I so wish I could do like you :)

  15. Guess it is time for me to hunt out the copper sheets I have ! Loving these Autumn colours x

  16. Two great designs Shery! Love your metal background and metal leaves on your mixed media card!

  17. Catching up on all the posts I’ve missed… What is that bold flower a super stamp and it is great to see this one in so many different ways on a lot of your cards! Super inspiring to see them all! Hugs, Gerrina

