Paper craft project no. 252: Celebrate autumn mixed media card

2014-09-01 Celebrate autumn mixed media card

Hello and happy September! Here’s my first project for September and it comes with some happy news: I’m excited to be part of the Mixed Media Mojo design team :o) I hope you’ll check out the blog — see the projects that my new teammates created and then join us! The challenge this month is to create a fall/autumn-themed project and use/incorporate paste (embossing paste, modeling paste, etc.).

For my project, I went with an autumn-themed card. To create the background panel, I applied gesso on watercolor paper then blended various colors of Gelatos (lemon, mango, tangerine, red cherry, and gold champagne). I stamped sentiments (Subway Art Builders: Dare) and grunge textures (Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds) in VersaMagic chalk inks (red brick and jumbo java) on the panel and trimmed it to size. Next, I applied embossing paste through a stencil (6″ by 6″ Well Rounded from The Crafter’s Workshop) and painted gold champagne Gelatos over the paste. I distressed the edges of the panel then inked with VersaMagic red brick chalk ink before mounting it onto my card base. Next, I cut 4 squares from the leftovers, distressed and inked the edges, and adhered to the panel. I used a white PITT artist pen (Faber-Castell) to doodle some faux stitches on the squares. I adhered burlap scrap ribbon and the sunflower (Bloom Sketches) and leaves. I finished the card by adding the sticker sentiment (Sentiment/Fall from SRM Stickers).

Linking up my card to the following fun challenges: 613 Avenue Create #87 – Anything Goes with optional Sights, Sounds, Tastes of Autumn;  Scribble and Scrap Challenge #26 – Always Anything Goes; and The Paper Players #211 – Tic-Tac-Toe (I went with the items down the middle – green [leaves], embossing [I used embossing paste — I hope that counts!], and ribbon [scrap burlap ribbon]).

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be back later today with two more autumn-inspired cards :o)

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 252: Celebrate autumn mixed media card”

  1. A wonderful card and such lovely rich colours.
    Thank you for joining in with the Scribble & Scrap challenge and good luck x

  2. Congrats on being on the MMM DT … will definitely check out the challenge! LOVE this card Shery … the colors are so gorgeous and the background really highlights your beautiful sunflower. Love the addition of burlap. Loll xx

  3. Oh, Shery, this is spectacular! I love how rich your background is. Great use of the Tic-Tac-Toe elements. Thanks for joining us at The Paper Players.

  4. Shery, this is just off the chain. I have featured it on our FB page! Love, love, love what you do. I need a CAS class! :D) :D)
    Hugz,
    Chana

  5. Awesome job! I really like the Fall colors and warm feeling.

  6. So pretty. Loving the autumnal colours. Thank you for joining us over at the Scribble and Scrap Challenge. Good luck.
    xx

  7. That background is fabulous! I love the texture,too. Thanks for joining the challenge this week at The Paper Players!

  8. This is stunning! LOVE what you did! Thanks so much for joining us on the Mixed Media Mojo team!!

  9. Gorgeous projects Shery! I love how you layer, it is so amazing! ~kim

  10. Shery, this is wondeful, the colours are just so rich and with all this added texture I just want to touch the card x

