Paper craft project no. 250: Believe [Crazy for CAS Guest]

2014-08-30 Believe - Crazy for CAS

Hi, there! STAMPlorations is proud to be the sponsor of the current challenge at Crazy for CAS. This challenge blog is owned by the talented Sientje and I was thrilled when she invited me to guest design as well. She has an incredibly talented team! The challenge is a sketch challenge and the winner gets to pick a stamp set from the shop (any single set in the Holiday, Vignette, Sketched, Subway Art Builders, Sentiment Builders, Patchwork Frenzy and Bold Sentiments categories). I hope you’ll stop by the blog and play along! Here’s the sketch:

crazyforCASsketch

To create my card, I trimmed 2 panels (a large and small one) and ran them through a poinsettia embossing folder. Instead of using the embossed side, I flipped the panels over so the debossed side shows. I used a TH distressing tool to distress the edges before inking them up with VersaMagic chalk ink (hint of pesto). Next, I trimmed my middle panel, stamped on it using one of the stamps in the Grunge Floral Strips set  in chalk ink (hint of pesto), and then inked the two long edges with the same chalk ink color. I adhered these 3 panels onto my card base. On scrap card stock, I stamped the poinsettia (from the Holiday Sketches: Christmas Flower) in Memento ink (tuxedo black) and colored it with Faber-Castell watercolor pencils. I fussy cut the image and mounted it on my card with thick foam tape. I stamped the sentiment from the same set in black ink. I finished the card by applying a bit of Diamond stickles to give my poinsettia a little sparkle. And the card is done :o)

I’d like to enter my card to these fun challenges: Festive Friday Challenge #39 – Inspiration Photo (I focused on the textures and leaves. Plus it is a new-to-me challenge blog — I obviously have been living under a rock!); Brown Sugar Challenge #109 – Anything Goes; Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – August Anything Goes; ABC Christmas Challenge – Q for Quick and Easy (How quick is quick? It took me about 20 minutes to put this card together, which is quick for me, as the cards I’ve been making lately have taken me at least 45 minutes to make!); Christmas Cards All Year Round – Sparkle & Shine (I used stickles on my image); and Christmas Stampin’ All Year Long – Anything Goes; Penny’s Challenge #192 – Children and/or Christmas.

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you’re having a great weekend!

~Shery

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 250: Believe [Crazy for CAS Guest]”

  1. This is beautiful. Love the clean design and the debossed background. Thanks for playing with CSAYL and CHNCC2.

  2. So pretty Shery! Never think to use the debossed side — looks awesome. Your poinsettia is so beautiful – love the added sparkle. Loll xx

  3. Gorgeous card, Shery! Simple and stunning! Thanks for playing along with us at CSAYL!
    Tracey, DT

  4. Oh wow, this card is gorgeous. Thanks for joining us at ABC Christmas Challenge. Luv, Wilma

  5. So glad you found us Shery!!! I love the way your watercolored poinsettia pops off your distressed and textured whites…BEAUTIFUL!!! Thanks so much for joining us at Festive Friday!!!

  6. Stunning! Love that embossed panel and of course the poinsettia is the prettiest !

  7. lovely card, thanks for playing at ABC Christmas challenge, hugs Samantha x

  8. Love the subtle reinforcement of the poinsettia in your embossed background. Thanks so much for joining us at Festive Friday!

  9. Thanks for sharing your beautiful card for CCAYR August ‘sparkle and shine’ challenge – hope to see you again soon, Hazel, CCAYR design team – and thanks for entering this for my CHNC challenge extra for August x

  10. superbe et très élégante Shery, le rouge de ta fleur est vraiment mis en valeur, merci de jouer avec nous chez CSAYL, biz

  11. Stunning! The red against the white is beautiful

  12. So glad you could play with us at Festive Friday Shery! The poinsettia is so stunning. Love all the shimmer.

