Paper craft project no. 249: My girl mixed media layout

MixedMediaLayout-00

Hello! It’s my turn to share a project over at the SRM Stickers blog! When I saw “mixed media layout” in Susan’s list for our August assignments, I had the perfect subject: my niece Alexa. I affectionately call her The Adorable One — she’s been that to me since the day I held her in my arms when she was a just 5 days old. She’ll be turning 3 this October, but this is one of my favorite photos of her. (Well, all photos with her in it are my favorite!) It was taken when she was 5 months old.

Anyway, I had a blast playing with stencils, modeling paste, Twinkling H2Os, Distress inks, Inktense blocks, plastic resin flowers I made, STAMPlorations flower stamps, and super-fun stickers (Baby Girl, Everyday Girl, and Baby) and doilies from SRM Stickers! I have a photo tutorial for this layout on the SRM Stickers blog so you can see how I put this mixed media layout together.

I’m linking my project to these fun challenges: The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge #3 – Stencils and Pastes; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes (3rd entry); Southern Girls Challenge – It’s All About Texture; Little Red Wagon Challenge #252 – Girl Power; and Crafty Creations Challenge #270 – Dig Deep, Use Something Old from Your Stash (I made the plastic resin flowers over a year ago – I made hundreds of them and I’ve yet to use them all up!)

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be back in a couple of weeks to share another project featuring SRM Stickers products!

~Shery

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 249: My girl mixed media layout”

  1. Such a gorgeous and cheerful layout. I love the embossing, patterns and subtle use of stickers. Thanks so much for joining us at Southern Girls Challenge :)

  2. Gorgeous layout Shery! Love the resin flowers you made too! Thanks for playing along at Crafty Creations Challenges x

  3. Ah so sweet! Pretty colors and photo and details…everything!

  4. Super cute! I love all the different colors here–just the right amount of color “pops” to go with the fun background you created. Thanks for playing along in the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

  5. this is so pretty. i love all the elements of your layout! Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel

  6. Shery – your love for you niece shines through your post and this layout you’ve created! She’s so fortunate to have an Aunty S who I know spoils and pampers her to the nth degree! My niece is already 4 1/2 (gahhh….) and while all photos of her make my heart sing, the one of the two of us ‘meeting’ for the first time (she was but a couple weeks old),is my absolute favorite…heart melting and heart-warming! If only I could do layouts as beautifully as yours…on the ‘must do’ list! You’re such an inspiration as a designer, a crafter and, especially, a person who treasures her family deeply! Alexa will love this…a priceless keepsake!!
    Hugs~c

  7. hi Shery! awesome, you have inspired me…I really need to dabble in mixed media more…luv the look and details! so glad you played along with Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

    sparkle & shine *~*

  8. Great colours and texture and your niece is adorable. Thank you for sharing your lovely layout and playing along with our Girl Power challenge at Little Red Wagon.

  9. Aww, that is such a delish layout, how could it not be, with such a divine subject?! Thanks for joining us in the Southern Girls ‘Texture’ Challenge. We look forward to seeing more of your gorgeous work in future challenges. Hugs, Wends x SGC DT

  10. Very pretty layout. I really love the colorful and dimensional background you created with the modeling paste. Thanks so much for joining us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

  11. Your neice is so adorable :) love the beautiful and happy layout !

  12. What a beautiful layout, with gorgeous colours and lots of cuteness!

