Paper craft project no. 247: Love mixed media layout [with video tutorial]

2014-08-26 Love mixed media layout

Hello, friends! It’s a brand new challenge over at Time Out Challenges! This time around, we’re doing the Inspired by Words challenge. Ready? We’re going with a quote from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night: “If music be the food of love, play on.” What does that phrase trigger for you? It can be the entire phrase, one word, or a couple of words. Music? Food? Love? Play? If you’re at all inspired by the phrase, we’d love you to share your project with us! We’ve got a wonderful guest designer joining us: Rosemary from Hey There…rosigirl. And do check out the projects that my teammates made — see how we each got inspired by Shakespeare!

I went with a mixed media 12″ by 12″ layout for my project. (You’ll see me doing plenty of mixed media layouts in the next few weeks.) I wanted to combine “music” and “love” but since I couldn’t find any papers with musical notes on them and I was too lazy to go through my stash to find the music sheet wood stamp, I settled on just “love”. Now, the photo I used in my project is one of my favorite photos of my husband and me. It was taken in 2003, a year before we got married. [It was a selfie — way before Facebook made it popular haha!] It was a wonderful day and I knew then that I was going to marry him (didn’t matter when…I knew he was THE ONE).

Anyway, rather than describe how I put together this layout, how about I show you how I did it from start to finish? I used a number of techniques and I wouldn’t want to bore you with a long description. (I listed the supplies I used below.) So here’s a video done in my usual style with a wee bit modification: it’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart my voice-over narration :o) I know your time is important, so this is a shorty — just a little over 13 minutes. Enjoy!

You can also watch the video directly on YouTube here

I’d like to enter my project to the following fun challenges: Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes; Mixed Media Monthly Challenge #3 – Stencils with Modeling Paste; Crafty Creations Challenge #270 – Use something old from your stash (I used old rub-ons); Fan-Tastic Tuesday Challenge #50 – Anything Goes; and Tuesday Throwdown #210 – Anything Goes.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

Supplies: inks (Archival by Ranger; VersaMagic by Tsukineko), paper (The Paper Studio), paints and sprays (Distress Paint and Perfect Pearls Mist by Ranger; Twinkling H2Os), watercolor pencil and white PITT artist pen (Faber-Castell), gesso, modeling paste and gel medium (Liquitex), stencils (Heidi Swapp; Plaid; The Crafter’s Workshop), rub-ons (7Gypsies, a couple out of packaging), stickers (We’ve Got Your Border/Wedding and Sentiment/Love by SRM Stickers), and stamps (Bloom Sketches and Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds by STAMPlorations)

20 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 247: Love mixed media layout [with video tutorial]”

  1. Thanks for the tutorial of your totally gorgeous layout! What a great way to scrap the wonderful picture of you & hubby!

  2. Hi Shery, I have just been catching up on a few of your posts and I am so impressed as always. I love this layout. The way you have grouped most of your images and patterns near your photos is lovely but the outer edges still have stuff going on there too. The repeated pics are a great design feature.

  3. this is really a beautiful layout! Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel

  4. Gorgeous LO!! Wow! The background and design is amazing! Love the fun pics too!!

    Thank you very much for joining us this week at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog!

    hugs…
    Melissa

  5. What a great photo! And the LO is fun! Love the texture and the haerts! Hugs, Gerrina

  6. What an amazing layout, Shery … and such a lovely photo … loved your description of when it was taken! Anita :)

  7. Lovely mixed media layout! Great texture on the background! Thanks for joining us in this month’s Mixed Media Monthly Challenge “Stencils and Pastes”!

  8. I just love the texture and artsy feel in this. Makes me happy! Thanks for joining the August Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

  9. What a great layout! And the sentiment is great! Thanks for joining us at Tuesday Throwdown this week!!

  10. Wonderful layout!! Love the texture you’ve achieved on your design too! Thanks for playing along with us at Tuesday Throwdown Hugs – *Vicki*-DT member

  11. What lovely photographs and an equally amazing layout. Off to enjoy the video :)

  12. First, I totally love the photos of you and your husband; a wonderful combination of beautiful and handsome! Second, how wonderful is this layout to showcase said fabulous photos! Third: your video ROCKS! Once I get some gesso and a few other ‘must haves’ in hand, I’m playing!! Fabulous inspiration, Shery…your creativity and artistry always delights!!
    Hugs~c

  13. Very cool canvas. I love all the texture and dimension. Thanks for joining us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

  14. Oh wow, such a totally gorgeous mm creation!! So nice to have such a memorable photo to use as well – lovely :)

  15. Super fun page — love the clustering

  16. A stunning mixed media design. Love the pictures!

  17. FABulously AWESOME layout :) Very inspiring. Hugs Bev x

  18. What a gorgeous project hun great job and thank you so much for linking up with week at Fan-Tastic Tuesday – hope to see u back soon hugs Judith DT x

  19. I will check out your video later as I have to see how you made this wonderful design,so much joy and love in it,so perfect for a lovely memory x

  20. Great layout Shery and what a pleasant voice you have! Great video. You have so fun ideas for mixed media! I especially love the way you did the hearts. xxx

