Paper craft project no. 245: It’s your birthday, Nonni!

2014-08-22 OLC It's your birthday

Guess what today is? It’s Nonni‘s birthday and there’s a birthday party happening on blogland! Sandie masterminded organized this surprise party and is hosting it on her blog. Of course, as Nonni is a BIG part of STAMPlorations, we’re celebrating over there too (see this post)! Blame her baby, Rafa…he’s the ring leader; he got our pets to show up too!

I “met” Nonni almost a year ago (September 10, 2013 to be exact) when she left a comment on this card I’d entered to ATSM. She is the sweetest person I’ve had the fortune of bumping into online and certainly one of the most talented card-makers! She colors like a pro and I always try to channel my inner Nonni when it comes to coloring with markers. (I think I’ve improved somewhat, though I still have a love-hate relationship with alcohol markers.) Nonni is a wonderful friend, always there to encourage you, and I’ve told her this before but it’s worth telling again: her encouragement had meant a lot to me during the early days of my little stamp company. I was about to scrap the idea of continuing with STAMPlorations but she came at a time when I needed encouragement and to believe in what I was trying to do. For that, I’m grateful.

So Nonni, I hope you have the best birthday yet! Enjoy this day and the next ones…because I’m quite certain your birthday linky is going to have a steady flow of cards made by people who know you, appreciate you, and love you!

Because you’re the Queen of Copic Coloring, I made this card for you. My coloring skills are nowhere close to yours, but I hope this brings a smile to your face. You’re a genuinely awesome girl!

Hugs,

Shery

Supplies: Stamps – Sketched: Tulips, Sentiment Builders: Celebrate by STAMPlorations; Inks – Distress ink (broken china), Memento (tuxedo black); Spectrum Noir markers; Paper – 100# classic white heavy card stock; burlap.

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 245: It’s your birthday, Nonni!”

  1. What an eye-catching card! Love the fence!

  2. Love these beautiful, bright tulips!

  3. What fabulous colouring, Shery … bright, bold and so beautifully vibrant … perfect for Nonni! Anita :)

  4. Love your burlap fence surrounding your lovely garden of gorgeous tulips Shery!

  5. Bright, bold and beautiful Shery. Those tulips are stunning … such a lovely card to celebrate Nonni’s birthday. Loll xx

  6. What a beautiful card… And what a beautiful post!! Thank you for all the kind words about me. I think the starts were in the right position when the two of us met. :) I’m super happy to call you my friend. Thank you for being part of this birthday surprise for me! xxx ps. you are getting very very good at coloring!

  7. What a beautiful card! I love the pretty flowers!

  8. Beautiful card! And how brave that you go on colouring with the alcoholmarkers! I must see I’ve give up…they are just not my thing…and that while I love new things and trying them… Hugs, Gerrina

  9. What a sweet happy card :) love the sky!

  10. So beautiful! I have a question, how do you prevent ink/markers bleeding behind the card for one layer card? thanks!!

  11. Beautiful card for Nonni, Shery. Love the gorgeous colored tulips! Stunning card.

  12. I think your colouring is just perfect and wonderful bright summer colours. Great way to make a fence. Thanks for joining in the party x

