Paper craft project no. 244: Be Merry + a Mixed Media Canvas with video tutorial

2014-08-14 OLC Be merry

Hello!  I’d like to share a one layer card I made for the current challenge at Time Out. There’s a little under a week left to enter your creations as inspired by this awesome card by Anita, our guest designer. While my first card here was inspired by the colors in Anita’s card, my card today was inspired by the layout, specifically the embossed geometric aqua/teal/turquoise panel on her card. If you’re inspired by Anita’s card, we hope you’ll share it with us at Time Out!

To make my card, I first stamped the image (Holiday Sketches: Christmas Candles set from STAMPlorations) on my card base. I stamped it again on a post-it note, fussy cut, and placed it over the stamped image as a mask. Next, I stamped the border (Vignette: Art Deco Border Builders set) on the right in VersaMagic chalk inks. Then I sponged some yellow around the candles. I removed the mask and colored the image with Spectrum Noir alcohol markers. I stamped the sentiment (from the same holiday set) in VersaMagic chalk ink (midnight black). I finished the card by rounding the bottom corners.

I’d like to enter my card to these fun challenges: Addicted to Stamps and More #109 – CAS; Deep Ocean Challenge #85 – Christmas in August; Penny’s Paper Crafty Challenge 191 – Christmas, Children, or Critters; Wonderful Wednesday – Anything Goes; Stamps & Fun = Creativity – Christmas in Summer; Simon Says Monday Challenge – Anything Goes; and Lady Crafts Ink TLT Challenge – CAS.

And before I go, I’d like to share a simple canvas I did last week when I found a roll of gift wrapping paper. It was my extra spotlight project over at STAMPlorations. I used stamps from the newly released Bloom Sketches, as well as from the Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds set. I’ve got a video showing how I did it from start to finish too. It’s 7 minutes, 38 seconds long — done in my usual style: in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart. Hope you enjoy it!

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE 

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 244: Be Merry + a Mixed Media Canvas with video tutorial”

  1. verry pretty cards! Thank you for joining us on SFC Challenge Blog.
    We hope to see you soon again ;o)

    xxxLisa

  2. Your candle and holly image has such yummy richness! Thanks for joining us this week at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  3. Love the beautiful shading you gave in the background on your elegant card! Sweet design! Glad you joined in on the challenge this week at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

  4. Wow Shery! I love love the red candles, and the background is very appealing too! your cards are so much fun and such great inspirations xx

  5. Hi Shery. This is AMAZING!!!! Love the glow around the candles and everything else about this card. Thanks for joining us at ATSM this week. Have a lovely day! hugs Monika xxx

  6. Amazing … this card has so much depth — definitely doesn’t look one layer. Awesome design and coloring. Loll xx

  7. Great modern-Christmascard! And your canvas is a beautiful eye-catcher! Fun to watch the video and wondering how I look while thinking about a new step? Enjoy the weekend!

  8. Beauties :) I love the bold red colors on the card and ur canvas is over the top amazing :)

  9. WOW! Such a wonderful Christmas card and good on you for making a start on them :) Hugs Bev x

  10. wonderful Xmas card Shery, I do love the rich colours x

  11. Dam girl! You are so amazing with one layer! The depth you achieve has my jaw dropping~

