Paper craft project nos. 241 and 242: Be merry and bright / Smile you

2014-08-17 OLC Be merry and bright

I sure have been cutting it close several times these last few days! I’ve got cards for a couple of challenges that end in a few hours. First up (above) is a one layer shaped card I made for the current Virginia’s View Challenge #6 – Shape Card. My month wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t create something for this wonderful challenge hosted by the fabulous Virginia Lu. I got a tad ambitious with my card (I made 5 attempts) and grew frustrated with each attempt (there was always something in it that I didn’t like) but I persevered and ended up with a card that so impressed the hubby so it was worth it!

To make this card (it’s 7 inches wide and 6 inches tall), I stamped my poinsettia (from the Holiday Sketches: Christmas Flower set) several times on watercolor paper to make a Christmas wreath then I fussy cut around the outer edge of the stamped images and did the same to the back of the card. I watercolored the poinsettias with Memento inks, then went over them again with Inktense blocks for the darker colors. I also painted a bit of persimmon and sweet alfalfa Twinkling H2Os over the flowers and leaves to give them some shimmer — hard to see in the photo, but the poinsettias shimmer beautifully! I stamped my sentiment in VersaMagic chalk ink (midnight black). My Christmas wreath still looked a little flat to me so I took a white Faber-Castell PITT big brush pen and traced some of the flowers and leaves to give it a 3D frosty look.

I’m also entering this card to 3 other  fun challenges: Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas #190 – Favorite Things (watercolor paper is my favorite card base; I love Inktense blocks for watercoloring; Twinkling H2Os are my newest faves; and the poinsettia stamp has become my favorite stamp); Sweet Stampin’ – Christmas in August; and Addicted to Stamps and More #108 – Holiday (entry #2).

****************

2014-08-17 CAS Smile you

As for my second card…I created it as a last-minute entry to the Clicking Cameras challenge over at Moxie Fab World. I initially thought the challenge was over since it said the deadline was midnight August 17 (as in a minute after 11:59 pm, August 16), but the linky’s still open. On cardstock, I stamped and colored a retro-ish camera image (one I’d drawn and turned into a stamp) with Memento markers and fussy cut it before mounting it onto my card base with foam tape. I paired it with a couple of bold sentiments (from the STAMPlorations Boxed Blooms set). I created the background by stamping one of the square stamps in the Graphic Squares set in 3 different VersaMagic chalk ink colors (red brick, pumpkin spice, thatched straw), I rather like the the autumn/masculine feel of the card. I gotta say I was inspired by this gorgeous card by Deepti, so this is sort of a CASE of her card. (And because I used squares, I’m entering this to the current challenge at Addicted to CAS (#45 – Geometric).

I’m entering my camera-themed card to these other fun challenges: Sister Act Card Challenge #70 – Anything Goes; Sisters of Craft – August Anything Goes Challenge; and Cute Card Thursday #334 – Clean and Simple.

Thanks a bunch for stopping by!

~Shery

 

14 Comments to “Paper craft project nos. 241 and 242: Be merry and bright / Smile you”

  1. thankyou for entering the sisters of craft blog challenge. love it! michelle dt x

  2. Love the camera. Nice work.

  3. Thanks for entering your lovely card for CHNC challenge 190 – hope to see you again soon

  4. Both of these? TOTALLY awesome, Shery!

  5. Your cards are really GORGEOUS, Shery! Your wreath is colored so beautifully, and your 2nd card is so fun and trendy! I love the retro camera, especially with the amazing border you created on this card! It’s always fun to visit your blog and see what you’ve done!
    Thank you so much for joining us at ATSM this week! I hope you’ll be back again soon with more entries!!!

  6. Hi Shery. Awesome cards!!!!!! So waiting for my stamps to arrive. :-) Thanks for joining us at ATSM this week. Monika

  7. Fabulous dual cards! Your geometric is spot on! Thanks for joining in with ATCAS~

  8. Two fabulous cards Shery! Love the poinsettias on the wreath shaped card … your watercoloring is amazing! And love design of your geometric card … those colors fit perfectly with the retro feel. Thanks for playing along at ATS&M and ATCAS! Loll xx

  9. These are totally fab! that wreath is a genius, i love the graphic card too :) thank you for sharing with ATCAS!

  10. Fabulous poinsettia card, Shery – it’s so eye-catching! Love the graphic card to with the hand-drawn camera ;)

  11. Wow those poinsettias have such gorgeous depth – stunning! Thanks for playing along with us at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  12. Wow, Shery, all the fussy cutting on your poinsettia card was so worth the effort! What a fabulous design, sure to delight the recipient at Christmas! So happy you could join us at ATSM!

  13. I am so impressed, too!! The poinsettias are absolutely gorgeous! I love the shades and shimmer details. I bet they look even more beautiful in person. I can’t believe that you fussy cut them! It makes me so happy that you enjoy playing this monthly challenge! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View! PS: well done on the camera card! I love the stamping on the side with that funky camera!

  14. You have used the graphic square set perfectly, Shery! LOVE the colours. Your hand drawn camera is awesome! Thanks so much for playing along at ATCAS xx

