Paper craft project no. 237: Hello, dear friend

2014-08-14 OLC Hello dear friend

It’s a brand new challenge at Time Out Challenges! This fortnight, it’s CASE with your own twist. Whose card are we CASE-ing this time around? It’s by the fabulous Anita of My Paper Craft World! We also have Shona of Twine Around guest designing with us! I hope you’ll check out the blog and see how our guest designer and my teammates CASEd Anita’s card.

I took my cue from the blue/aqua/teal color and embossing on her card and gave it my own twist: I made a one layer mixed media card. First, I applied Gelatos (Mango) onto my daisy stamp (from the Bloom Sketches set), spritzed it with water and then stamped. I masked the image before stamping the other daisies the same way. Next, I applied modeling paste through a stencil and let it dry before watercoloring in some Twinkling H2Os (blue zircon) and letting it run and bleed along the side. I stamped my sentiments (from the Boxed Blooms & Bold Sentiments and Bloom Sketches sets) in Memento tuxedo black and Hero Arts tide pool inks. I splattered some metallic mint Gelatos and finished the card by rounding one corner.

Here’s Anita’s card:

I’m playing along these fun challenges: One Layer Simplicity Challenge #8 – Shades of Summer (I picked #3); Mixed Media Monthly Challenge #3 – Stencils with Modeling Paste; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Summer (I went with summer colors and flowers); and The Pink Elephant #263 – Stencils.

 

  

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful day :o)

~Shery

17 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 237: Hello, dear friend”

  1. These are beautiful! Especially love the first one. Thanks for joining the August Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

  2. Shery, I love the texture you created with the paste! What a fabulous way to ground that border! And your use of the color combo is fabulously balanced! Thanks so much for playing along with the OLS Challenge!

  3. Gorgeous cards! I especially love the first one with the splatters and the color combo! Thanks for joining us in this month’s Mixed Media Monthly Challenge “Stencils and Pastes”!

  4. Just gorgeous cards! I love the colored modeling paste and the splatter background of the first one. Thanks so much for joining us this month at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

  5. Love the colors on this Shery! Great texture with the embossing paper – and pretty blooms with the splatter!

  6. your card is gorgeous! i really love how you colored over the embossing paste, it adds such a great element to your lovely card. Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel
    rwkrafts.com

  7. Brill card Shery
    I love the colour combo and the texture, I will have to break out my texture paste on my cards, I have just saved it for my art journal and scrap book pages before.
    Lorry :o) xxx

  8. Super how the embossed part takes the eye from there to the sentiment! Beautiful card! Hugs, Gerrina

  9. This is so you, Shery! I love the color combo, the splashes and your idea with the stencil. Very artistic. xxx

  10. Gorgeous colors! I love the textures of the paste gives!! Excellent take on all the challenges, Shery! Wish you are a happy weekend! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

  11. Goodness.Shery, you are so amazing at OLCs! This is so stunning … gorgeous texture, beautiful blooms and I love those tiny splatters! Anita :)

  12. Wow, such a fab piece of art!! Really creative and beautifully executed :)

  13. This is a textural masterpiece, Shery!! Such a beautiful card and such a fantastic CASE!! Hugs, Darnell

  14. Beautiful OL card with such detail and texture – perfect CASE too. Hugs Bev x

  15. Beautiful design Shery. Love the turquoise watercoloring over the embossing paste – great technique. Loll xx

  16. Love the texturing :) such a pretty card !

  17. fabulous texture Shery and great masking.Love your take on Anita’s card x

