Paper craft project no. 235: Celebrate

2014-08-04 Celebrate

We’ve got a new sketch at the STAMPlorations blog! Our guest designer is no stranger to us, as we’ve had the privilege of having her guest design before: the super talented Kimberley Makortoff of Art Keeps Me Sane. She did a fabulous job on the sketch, as did the STAMPlorations girls. Check out our sketch-inspired projects and we’re hoping you’ll join us as well and share your creations!

For my card, I used the sentiment from the Sentiment Builders: Celebrate set and the sunflower from the August stamp set, BLOOM SKETCHES (see the preview of this stamp set and the September stamps here). On chalkboard card stock, I heat embossed the sunflower in white and gave it a bit of shimmer with Twinkling H2Os (mango mamba) before adhering it to my card base. I also cut a couple of the chalkboard card stock into squares, heat embossed the edges, and then stuck it to the panel. On scrap watercolor paper, I brushed some mango mamba Twinkling H2Os before stamping the sunflower stamp in coffee archival ink and cropping it to a slightly larger square. Then I stamped the sentiment in Memento morocco dew drop ink on scrap watercolor paper, cut it to size and adhered to the card. It may not be too obvious in the photo, but the embossed panel has a gorgeous sheen to it — Twinkling H2Os have just become one of my favorite supplies ;o)

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Seize the Birthday – Seeing Yellow Birthdays (I skipped the toppings, monochromatic yellow, although I still used yellow on my card); Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything GoesA Gem of a Challenge #125 – Embossing (my background is heat embossed) and Addicted to Stamps and More #106 – Anything Goes.

  Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog  GRAB OUR BADGE!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Give someone a smile today :o)

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 235: Celebrate”

  1. Such a dramatic background! Great card!
    Thank you for joining us at Seize The Birthday. :)

  2. Love your sunflower background with the single one layered on top Shery!

  3. Popped over to see your AMAZING, FABULOUS monthly challenged card — that isn’t up yet. Still wanted to say how incredible the color was!! Beautiful

  4. Another stunning card Shery! Love the background very much. The boxed blooms are indeed very pretty! Thank you for joining us at ATSM.

  5. That’s a beautiful way of interpreting the sketch Shery. Love it. Jenny x

  6. GREAT take on the sketch, Shery! Love your bright and happy stamping here! That background looks amazing! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

  7. wonderful background Shery and I do like the twinkle look. Thanks for joining us at ATSM

  8. Love the bold BG! Even though there are a lot of flowers on these, I would easily send this one to a man… Hugs, Gerrina

  9. Wow Shery, the gorgeous background and the embossed edges of your squares make this is a stunner! :)

  10. Nothing new from me – awesome background! Love it!

  11. Hi Shery. Love it, your BG reminds me of old film negatives. Have a lovely day! Hugs Monika xxx

  12. This is fantastic, Shery! I love that background. Your cards are like works of art! Thank you so much for your kind words about me. You’re too kind! :-)

  13. Wow, love that background, Shery!

  14. Wow! That BG is a
    Master piece, I wish I could create like you :)

