Paper craft project no. 231: Celebrate one layer card

2014-07-31 OLC Celebrate TO

Hello, everyone! It’s been awhile. I haven’t been able to craft as much this week and last week. For one, my craft area looks like a tornado went through it. I started re-organizing and cleaning it more than a couple of weeks ago but I’ve yet to make noticeable progress. (If I were being graded on it, I’d get an F.) For another, the allergies decided to come back. They’ve been on and off this last couple of weeks (mostly on than off) and making my life miserable. I’ve re-acquainted myself with my anti-histamines, decongestants, and inhalers — they’re my best friends right now. I really thought that once spring was over, I wouldn’t have to see  them until next February. (The cost of living in the valley where we’ve got terrible air and a host of pollutants!)

Since I couldn’t really craft all that much because of those two things, I’ve been taking my revenge on the machines at the gym, namely the rowing machine, exercise bike, elliptical, and weights, and working out for a couple of hours every day. Oddly enough, it’s what’s helping clear up my congestion and allowing me to breathe easily. That, and walking at least 3 miles every day. (Fortunately, we have a long driveway and 10 laps around it is the equivalent of 1 mile.) On a good day, I’m able to log a combined 25 miles. On a bad day, it’s a pitiful 12 miles. The good news is I’ve lost 8 pounds the past 2 weeks, and close to 20 pounds since the middle of June when I decided to walk more and exercise more. My clothes are now baggy (I’ve dropped 3 sizes) and soon I’ll have a good excuse to go shopping for new clothes ;o) If it weren’t for these darn allergies, I’d be dandy.

Aaaannnyywaaayyyyy…I hope I haven’t lost you yet or made you fall asleep. I’m coming to the real reason for this post: it’s time for a new challenge at Time Out!  This week is our theme challenge that has a little twist.  The challenge theme is CELEBRATIONS and the optional twist is BUTTERFLIES. Pretty easy! Any kind of celebration is perfect. Enter a project with butterflies in it and you’re in the running to win the stamp set of your choice from our sponsor, which happens to be STAMPlorations, the little stamp company that my hubby and I own. And if you use a STAMPlorations stamp in your entry (with or without the twist), you also get the chance to win the stamp set of your choice. While winner and top picks are voted by the design team, the winners of the sponsor prizes are randomly drawn so everyone has an equal chance of winning. Do stop by the Time Out blog and check out what my lovely teammates created. We’re joined once again by the super talented Sarah of Funky Fossils Designs.

For my project, I went with a one layer card. Actually, I started making a layered card with patterned papers, die-cuts and all, but in the middle of it, it just wasn’t looking right so I scrapped it. (I really suck at making cards with real layers.) Once I resolved to make a one layer card, things fell into place and I felt so much happier. (I really am a one layer card girl.)

STAMPlorationsBloomSketches5x7August2014First, I masked the bottom portion of my card base (100# classic white premium heavyweight card stock) and sponged the upper portion with Distress inks (mustard seed, spiced marmalade, and broken china). I stamped the daisy several times (masking the blooms as I went along) in coffee archival ink. The daisy stamp, by the way, is in the new 5″ by 7″ stamp set called Bloom Sketches that’s coming out this August (see sneak peek on the right). The 4 flowers in the set are ones I have illustrated, and there are 3 more of my flower sketches coming out in September along with some pretty cool Christmas stamps that I drew and designed as well. (There’ll be sneak peeks and full reveals of the August/September stamps–plus projects featuring them–on the STAMPlorations blog over the next few weeks.)

My card has the twist too: I stamped a few butterflies (from the Vignette: Artful Flutters) with coffee archival ink. To give it a shabby/vintage-y look, I randomly stamped grunge and text backgrounds (from the Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds and Vignette: Live Love Laugh sets).

For the bottom, I masked the upper portion then repeatedly stamped the scripty “celebrate” (from the Sentiment Builders: Celebrate) in tide pool shadow ink (Hero Arts). I stamped the sketchy “celebrate” (from the same stamp set) and the brush stroke underneath it (from the Vignette: Celebrate Artsy set) in jet black archival ink. I finished the card by adding diamond stickles to make the main sentiment sparkle a bit. And that’s it. The card’s done.

Whew. If you’ve read this far along, I truly appreciate it! My next posts won’t be this verbose. Goes to show I should try to not take a week off from blogging or I end up talking my head off! :o)

See you tomorrow — I’ve got a short post, as it’s my turn to share a spotlight project over at the STAMPlorations blog and I’ve got a couple more one layer cards made for that.

~Shery

7 fun challenges:

Addicted to Stamps & More #106 – Anything Goes
Divas by Design – Anything Goes
Try It On Tuesdays – Things with Wings (I’ve got butterflies in my card)
Crafting from the Heart #29 – Anything Goes
Craft Your Passion #224 – Flower Power
Through the Purple Haze #52 – Anything Goes
613 Avenue Create #82 – Anything Goes (Optional: Sentiment)

22 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 231: Celebrate one layer card”

  1. This is gorgeous. Love the stamp and design. Thank you for sharing this with us at Diva’s by Design.
    Hugs Sharon. x

  2. Hi Shery. A burst of Summer, just love it! As for new clothes … just go for it! :-) Thanks for joining us at ATSM this week and have a lovely day! hugs Monika xxx

  3. Wonderful card, thanks for joining us at TIOT. Valerie

  4. Amazing one layer design! And those colors…wow! Sure hope those nasty allergies clear up for you real soon! So happy you joined us at ATSM!

  5. Wow, I love this. Beautiful design! Thanks for joining us at CYP. I hope that you join in with our new challenge this week. hugsxx

  6. Beautiful card Shery. I LOVE blue and yellow together. And I love the repeat stamping of celebrate for the background … have to give that a try myself! I am amazed by your one layer cards … it’s something I struggle with … you will rarely see me post a one-layer.

    Hope your allergies take a hike soon … and you can enjoy the rest of the summer with easy breathing. Congrats on loosing 20 lbs. … great job! Loll xx

  7. Wow, there’s so much here I would never have guessed it a one layer card – gorgeous! Thanks for playing with us this week at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  8. Gorgeous…thanks for playing with us at Divas by Design!
    xxx Margreet

  9. Great card! I love all the different elements you’ve combined – it looks so 3D even though it’s the single layer. Hope those allergies settle very soon so you can get crafting again.

    Thanks for joining us at Through the Purple Haze Challenges.

    Lucy DT X

  10. Really nice card for a Clean and Simple!! It’s perfect for your one layer card! thanks for joining us at Through the Purple Haze Challenges!
    Hugs
    Darcy

  11. A lovely one layed card, it is so pretty thank you for joining us on the TIOT challenge hugs Bee

  12. So pretty! The graded colour changes look wonderful and such a fab multi layer look from a single layer card – very clever :)

  13. Week, first of all, I hope you’re feeling better! I love your card, I like the colors used and the way it all blends so nicely. Thanks for joining Through the Purple Haze Challenge.

    Hugs
    Joanie

  14. A beautiful one layer card. Thank you for sharing it with us at TioT’s this time.
    Yvonne

  15. Love this card! I pinned it to use it as inspiration later, hope you don’t mind? The colours are ones I don’t use much together, but they work so beautiful! Hugs, Gerrina

  16. Shery your card are one of a kind and every time I take a trip to your blog, I want to make a like yours. Stunning !! Hope the season changes soon and ur allergies say a goodbye :)

  17. Yayyy…you’re back and you’re okay (hope my long email note didn’t add to your ‘allergies’ *grin*)! Your exercise commitment and the subsequent results: wow!! Inspiring in every way. Go shopping!! And share some of your fashion finds, too! Your card is gorgeous, and how generous you are to be sponsoring the TIME OUT challenge! Butterflies and STAMPlorations = a recipe I must try! EXcited about the new releases…I”ll be inviting them to my collection!
    Hugs~c

  18. 3 sizes? Brat! I would love just one size — I’d have a new old wardrobe! :) Congrats and oh yeah – loving the card!

  19. 3 sizes, Shery, wow, that’s a lot! It’s great that you can take care of your health by exercising -and the new clothes are an added bonus. :) Great card, always when I see a card like this from you I want to create something similar but when I try, my efforts are no way near your fab layouts! Beautiful. So much lovely details to look at.

  20. Wow Shery! Time for a shopping trip! Fabulous work and I hope the allergies go away soon. I love your card. The spectrum of color is fabulous.

  21. Stunning & thank you for your generosity in sponsoring the challenge. Hugs Bev x

  22. New clothes!! Wonderful masking and great colour mix. My stamps have arrived but have yet to be opened. I am hoping to get to craft with them this week. Thanks for joining us at ATSM

