Paper craft project no. 220: You had me at hello

2014-07-08 You had me at hello

This week at The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge blog, we’ve got an interesting challenge: use a line from your favorite flick. I have to confess, however, that Jerry Maguire is not my favorite movie. I haven’t even seen it (not a Tom Cruise fan) and I’m not in the least bit interested in seeing it…ever. So why did I pick that line then? Because it goes with the digi image that was provided by our sponsor, Eureka Stamps. My favorite movie of all time is 12 Angry Men (1957) and the line, “The burden of proof is on the prosecution. The defendant doesn’t even have to open his mouth. That’s in the Constitution” doesn’t really go with the heart bouquet image, ya know? So that famous Jerry Maguire line it is ;o)

For my card, I colored the heart bouquet with Spectrum Noir markers and fussy cut it. I partially stenciled the Reversed Chickenwire stencil (TCW) on my card base to ground my colored image (mounted using adhesive foam). I stamped the “hello” (from the Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments by STAMPlorations) and then hand-wrote the rest. I finished the card by applying Diamond stickles on the hearts so they sparkle.

A snippet of the convo DH and I had when I showed him the finished card:

DH: [after looking at the card] So did I have you at hello?
me: [thinking] Nah. You had me at hi.
DH: Oh, is that what I said the first time we met?
me: Yeah, and I remember feeling like I was going to pass out as I watched you walk toward me.
DH: Good thing you didn’t. I had my hands full with luggage.

Anyway, enough of the sappy stuff ;o)  I hope you’ll come visit the blog and check out the other projects that my teammates created for the challenge.

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Addicted to Stamps and More #103 – Holiday (my card fits Valentine’s Day); CAS(E) This Sketch #83; and Crafting with Dragonflies #30 – CAS Card.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 220: You had me at hello”

  1. First, your snippet of your conversation with your husband is awesome! Love at first sight – and I’m totally on board with that! My husband and I met as a ‘set up’ concocted by my now sister-in-law (at the time my brother’s girlfriend). I was initially not happy that she had planned this; but by the evening’s end…well, you know how the story unravels. Second, so glad to hear I have company in not being a Tom Cruise fan (haven’t seen the movie either).YOur favourite line from 12 Angry Men: excellent. My favourite lines (campy as it is) comes from The Princess Bride. Too many to mention, although I have a story about the ‘Mawiage’ speech I’ll share at some point. Third: your card is fabulous! WOW, WOW and WOW!!
    Hugs~c

  2. Hi Shery. Great bouquet of hearts, love the subtle grounding. Thanks for joining us at ATSM. Have a great day! xxx

  3. Wow, what a stunning CAS card — the touch of background just blows my mind! Thanks for joining us at Crafting with Dragonflies. Best wishes to you & yours, CG

  4. A gorgeous CAS card, thanks for playing with us at Crafting with Dragonflies, blessings Hilde

  5. I just always love your cards, Shery!

  6. What a pretty bouquet, and a sweet story about you and your DH! Thanks for playing along with us at Addicted to Stamps and More!

  7. Such a pretty card, Shery! I love your bouquet and how you added the pretty bow…so sparkly, too! Thank you so much for joining us at ATSM this week!

  8. oh and just noticed you entered ATSM-thanks for playing along x

  9. I adore this Shery, the colouring is fab! And I also love the film 12 Angry Men-it is in in the West EAnd at the moment as a play, must go and see it x

  10. Love the quote … and perfect to go with your image. Yep, save the other quote for a different image :) Love the design of your card … fussy-cutting the image and popping it up really gives it lot of depth. The sparkle on the hearts is a great detail. Thanks for joining us at ATS&M!! Loll xx

  11. Great Quote, wonderful inspiration for our challenge at The Crafters Cafe this week.

  12. How truly romantic is DH! Lucky you. Gorgeous card too – and yes, it suits the line from the flick. Very CAS – thanks for sharing with us at Crafting with Dragonflies.

  13. Great take on the sketch!

