Paper craft project no. 219: HB2U

Click here to read my earlier post.

2014-07-06 HB2U

It’s time for a new sketch at the STAMPlorations blog! Our guest designer this week is the fabulous Monika Reeck. I hope you’ll check out her project, as well as the projects that the STAMPlorations girls made. You’ll see just how each of us interpreted the sketch. We’ve also got some news from the STAMPlorations HQ.

I went with a clean and graphic card. The sketch has plenty of white space but I really, really, REALLY like this sentiment block stamp (from the VIGNETTE: It’s Your Day)  that I just had to use it (again). So what I did was stamp the block onto my card base until the whole front of the card is covered with it. Then I used one of the Lil’ Inker rectangle stitched mat dies, washi-taped it onto the center of the card, then ran it through the Cuttlebug. I die-cut 5 more of the same rectangle using plain cardstock and glued them together.

I sponged Distress inks (broken china and faded jeans) onto my die-cut panel then glued it onto the stack. I then stuck the stacked panel to the card base. I’ve been wanting to do this technique for the longest time, but I haven’t any of the snazzier thin dies that many crafters all seem to have. So I settled for this one — it’s rather simple, I know, but hey, I’m more of a one layer card girl, ya know…this here is (infrequently) chartered territory for me so I ought to be given a bit of slack :o)

In retrospect, I should’ve made my die-cut panel stack thicker so the dimension is more obvious, but since I’m mailing this overseas to my brother, I didn’t want it to be too thick and heavy. Anyway, to complete the card, I stamped the brush stroke (from the VIGNETTE: Celebrate Artsy), stamped and paper-pieced the birthday gift (from the SKETCHED: Simple Gift), colored the bow with Spectrum Noir, and then added some Diamond stickles to it so it sparkles a little.

I’d like to enter my card to Virginia’s View Challenge #5 – Die Cut (I’m hoping I’d be able to make another card or two for this challenge — I just gotta come up with something worthy!)

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 219: HB2U”

  1. Hi Shery. The hint of dimension kept me guessing whether it was a cleverly sponged layer, the ones you’re so good at, or actually raised up. Glad you kept me guessing! have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  2. Glad I came for a closer look – I figured it was a OLC! Cool to add dimension by stacking that central panel. Is your bro artistic too?

  3. This is amazing, Love the blue inked focal panel :)

  4. This is super! I just love this idea and the sketch is as it’s best in your card. Very creative!

  5. Your card with the panel is lovely, Shery! The inking and layering are absolutely fab and superb! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View challenge! Whatever you post for the V. V. challenge is all good and worthy!! Don’t hold back now :)

  6. You’ve used your die cut to maximum effect here, Shery! Nothing more ‘fancy’ required, when you have awesome stamps and amazing creativity to work with! Love this card oodles!!
    Hugs~c

  7. I love my Lil’Inker dies! I really love the sponging and the stamping xx

  8. Hi Shery…I am so happy being on the Stamplorations design team even its only GDT…I wish I can join your team too one day if one lady maybe step down..please inform me sweety..for you to know..I know your stamp first at Cornelia blog and I fall in love and want to buy it…but too bad its not sell yet in Germany..also must be ordering from USA…I love VINTAGE stamp I always want to make Vintage card but not much challenge asking vintage style. (am I right?)..LOL…

    About your card..CLEVER I mean clever to stamp the middle paper in blue and put a bit thick than the card base and nice bday present too following the sketch..as I have only old set also I made my card with your butterfly stamp…I loooove that set…will make more card with it..hope you like to hop to my Blog to it will be really a surprise that the owner of the stamp leave me some love..big hugs…Monika

  9. Such fun to see more cards in the same style! That’s when you can see what colours do; beautiful! Hugs, Gerrina

  10. What a beauitful card and design Shery!! I love the stamp you used :-)

  11. So cool !!!! I’m surprised you did not do a one-layer card – that would work, too, although not for Virginia’s challenge ;)

  12. Super fun spotlighting effect on your card!

