Paper craft project no. 215: Missing you one layer card

2014-07-04 OLC Missing you

The July Challenge at the STAMPlorations blog has started! This month, the theme is STAMPS & GLITTER. The super-talented Kimberly Wiener is our guest designer this month so I hope you’ll check out her project, as well as the projects created by the STAMPlorations girls.

For my project, I went with another flower-themed one layer card. I stamped a daisy flower repeatedly to cover the bottom 2/3 of my card base. (This daisy is one of several I’d illustrated and turned into stamps; they’ll be available from STAMPlorations starting August.)  I loosely watercolored the flowers in distress inks (barn door, fired brick, broken china, faded jeans) and Inktense blocks (brown and different shades of green). I have a short video tutorial for a similar project in this post. The link to the video on YouTube is in there.

Next I stamped the sentiment (from the Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments) in Memento tuxedo black before spattering red and blue Inktense blocks. I finished the card by applying some Diamond and Patina stickles on the petals and centers of the flowers. (The glitter may not be so obvious in the photo, but it is very noticeable IRL.)

I’m entering my card to Paper Crafting Journey – Flower Power. It also fits the current challenge at One Layer Simplicity#6 – Wave the Flag. My card is in patriotic colors – red, white, and blue – since we’re celebrating Independence Day today.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Independence Day!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 215: Missing you one layer card”

  1. What a lovely card! Love that daisy stamp! It’s wonderful. Love the splatters too! :-)

  2. Could you please do me a favour? Stop designing such delicious stamps!! I want everything!! I love your repetative stamping and the watercolouring is just divine. Gorgeous, gorgous card Shery! xx

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Shery! We’re at my in-laws for a couple days, so I’m late (as usual) in commenting! Sending you wishes for a most spectacular year, filled with all things marvellous and wonderful!! Your card here; now this IS marvellous and wonderful! That daisy: spectacular. Wishlist for August already started!
    Hugs~c

  4. Shery, you are just AMAZING happy birthday!!! I LOVE this card, and the wonderful lovely that you sent me with my stamps, I am so lucky to have met you Shery, have a super terrific weekend!!!! Thanks for the shout our on your blog, so nice to see, it made my day!

    So Great to be featured on this challenge with STAMPlorations and the very talented DT!!!!

    –ANYTIME girlfriend, anytime!!!
    CELEBRATE, yay!
    -Kimberly

  5. FAB design, Shery! I know it is even more gorgeous in person! Your BEAUTIFUL one layer came in the mail yesterday. Thank you SO much for thinking of me! I can’t wait to ink up the stamp set that you sent me! HUGS! Wish you a happy crafty July 4th weekend!

  6. Great colours again! Pitty the glitter isn’t showing; this is a card to see in real life… Have a fun weekend, Gerrina

  7. How cool to see a floral card made in your flags colours. I am so impressed to see your drawings made into stamps. I would love to do that one day.

  8. Fabulous work on this card, Shery! Love the big flower cluster!!

  9. That daisy comes out in August – you temptress! Gorgeous and so perfect for the 4th of July!

  10. You just know I’d love this loose watercolouring and splattering;) And the daisy image is gorgeous.

  11. These blooms you’ve illustrated are just gorgeous, Shery, and you are a master at masking!

  12. Just fabulous Shery, this bloom is a stunner x

  13. No fair showing this cool image and its not available till AUGUST! :) — Simply fabulous card!!

