Paper craft project no. 214: Hello sunshine one layer card [with video tutorial]

2014-07-02 OLC Hello sunshine

 It’s time for a new challenge at Time Out Challenges! This fortnight, we’re doing Inspired by Words, and we’d love to see projects inspired by this phrase: fun in the sun. Take your cue from the phrase. You can also focus on either “fun” or “sun”. Do word associations. We’d love to see your take and how the phrase has inspired you! We’re also joined by the super talented Carol of Just me: C. You’ve got to see her project! Do also check out the awesome projects that my lovely team mates created.

As for my project, I decided to create a one layer card that’s bright and cheery, so I went with shades of yellow. I also used an artsy sunflower stamp (another flower I’d illustrated and turned into a stamp, which will be available from STAMPlorations this August). I stamped it in coffee archival ink (Ranger) and loosely watercolored it with mustard seed and scattered straw distress inks. I spattered blue and yellow Inktense blocks before stamping my sentiment (from the Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments set) in Memento tuxedo black. I also adhered the “hello sunshine” transparent border (We’ve Got Your Sticker/Hello from SRM Stickers) along the column of sunflowers. I finished the card by drawing a simple black border. Done!

Wait…I have a video tutorial for this too. It’s very short (3 minutes, 44 seconds) — in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart, just like my other videos. (YouTube takes a while to add the music to my videos so if you don’t hear Mozart, you know why.)

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-07-02 OLC Hello sunshine -cu

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Flat Friends Challenge #22 – One Layer Cards; Ladybug Crafts – Summer Flowers; Papertake Weekly – Anything Goes; and Vintage Stamping Challenges #21 – Summer Blooms.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

9 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 214: Hello sunshine one layer card [with video tutorial]”

  1. I am so completely and totally amazed at the dimension and attention that this card demands – It is GORGEOUS and one-layered!! I am in awe! Way to go – you did an awesomely beautiful job on this card!!

  2. Such a gorgeous card – I love the bright colours, stamp, and sentiments – they work beautifully together :-) Thank you so much for joining us over at Flat Friends, hope you have a lovely week, Em xx

  3. enjoyes the video tutorial. Thanks for sharing.

  4. This is gorgeous. When I have this stamp on my hands, I’m so CASEing this layout! I love the artsy splatters and the colors of this card. Beautiful!

  5. Such a beautiful sunny image & perfect interpretation of the challenge words :) Hugs Bev x

  6. Shery I just love the way you have coloured these flowers, so cheery and I must get to look at this video as I need to get my mojo back!

  7. Gorgeous Shery. Love the sunflowers…they are beautiful.

  8. Beautiful flowers and I love the line and hello as a contra-focuspoint! Hugs, Gerrina

  9. Your card is a delight Shery, Sunflowers are always so welcoming and the background you created is the perfect setting.

    Thanks so much for joining in and sharing your lovely work with us at FlonzCraft Vintage Stamping Challenges.

    B x

