Paper craft project no. 213: It’s your day one layer card

2014-07-01 OLC It's your day

Today is the last day of the STAMPlorations birthday blog hop! There’s less than 18 hours left to comment to win stamps! My card also doubles as my birthday card for the fabulous Darnell! She’s one of the most amaaaazing card-makers I’ve “met” online. It’s always a treat to read her posts. I’m always, ALWAYS left smiling every time. There’s a birthday linky party going on in her honor and if you know Darnell, I’m sure she’d be thrilled to see a card you make! You’ll find it here, hosted by another fabulous card-maker, Ardyth!

For my one layer card, I CASEd the card I entered to the Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking Stamping Royalty 2014 back in March. My card won honorable mention in the birthday category. Below is my card as published in the July 2014 issue (posted with permission from PC&S) and yes, those are individual alpha stamps that I stamped one by one, believe it or not, without the aid of a ruler. I simply started stamping the letters (from the bottom, going from right to left, then left to right, and so on) and was pleasantly surprised when the letters fit! It was very relaxing too ;o) Anyway, for the card above, I made it easy on myself by stamping the birthday block (and stamping one of the “It’s Your Day” in red with a bit of masking). Then I simply finished the card by stamping a chevron border and emphasizing the red sentiment by stamping the brush stroke on it. This card didn’t take as long to make as my card below ;o)

Stamping Royalty Honorable Mention

I’m offering the Subway Art Builders: Create stamp set as a prize to one lucky crafter who leaves a comment on my blog hop post, which you’ll find HERE. You will also find links to all the designers participating in the hop there to make blog-hopping easy for you. But in case you get lost along the way, all you need to do is go back to the STAMPlorations blog hop post.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

6 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 213: It’s your day one layer card”

  1. Sorry, I’m so late in popping in here to thank you, Shery! It’s been a really busy few days between my birthday and the 4th of July! Whoop!

    Thank you so much for this incredible birthday card! I am aswoon over the design and how you used the red, circled the sediment, and added the border! And the card that won in Idol and was published? PLEASE! How unique and awesome is that design?!! That’s youth for ya! I would have gotten halfway through and forgotten the alphabet!! Thank you for doing this post and linking up to the surprise party!! It means a lot to me!

    AND now that I’m a few days late in getting here, I just noticed on Vicki’s blog that TODAY (the 5th) is YOUR birthday and I didn’t know!! I hope it is AMAZING and that you celebrate all weekend long!! Big birthday hugs, my friend!! Mwah! Darnell

  2. Congrats on the publication, and the HM! Fantastic! Love your card for Darnell; she will too! Great idea to use red letters.

  3. Really sweet! I just love the design : ) and congrats on your honorable mention! a well deserved honor I see!! : )

    Patti

  4. Fabulous, Shery! Love how you coloured and circled the sentiment.

  5. Darnell will absolutely love your card, as do I! It’s fun, innovative, clever: perfect pairing to complement Darnell’s personality! Super congrats on your publication, and that card: wow, wow and wow!! Labour of love, indeed, and well worth the investment of time and creativity! It’s utterly amazing (just like its creator!!)
    Hugs~c

  6. This is brilliant, Shery! Darnell will love it!

