Paper craft project no. 212: Thanks a million mixed media card

2014-06-30 Thanks a million mixed media card

Today marks the start of The Mixed Media Card Challenge! We are so excited to share our mixed media cards, as well as have you come play with us! Our theme for July is “Touch of Nature” with an optional element (tag). Not sure what a mixed media card is? Here’s how we define it for our challenges.

For my DT card, I cut a cardstock panel smaller than my A2 watercolor card base and adhered DP that has a nature & newsprint design. I created an aperture by taping a Li’l Inker stitched circle die onto the panel and then running it through my Cuttlebug. I sponged the edges with coffee archival ink (Ranger). Using the 12″ by 12″ Specimens stencil from The Crafter’s Workshop, I applied modeling paste over the panel. Next, I distressed the edges and inked with brown ink.  On my card base, I stamped a daffodil (one of the flowers I illustrated) and watercolored it with Inktense blocks. I stamped one of the grunge floral strips in olive green all around the card base and sponged with Memento cantaloupe ink and Ranger coffee archival ink. I mounted the panel to the card base with foam tape. I finished the card with a transparent sticker sentiment from SRM Stickers.

Please check out the blog and see what the girls in my design team created!

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Crafting from the Heart #25 – Anything Goes; Crafty Boots Challenges – Thank You; Crafting by Designs – Here Comes Summer; Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes; and Muse Challenge #74 (I was inspired by the circle in Muse Jennifer Wills’ card, as well as the colors.)

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

23 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 212: Thanks a million mixed media card”

  1. LOVE all of your layers and how that daffodil just POPS with the BG! FAB card, Shery!

  2. Hi! This is such a great card. I love the background! Ingrid xx

  3. Fab card, very unique! Thanks for joining Crafty Boots Challenges.

  4. love this card – great use of the designer paper.

  5. Fabulous card, I love the wonderful background and the cheerful daffodil – it really pops.

    Thank you for sharing your work with all of us at Crafty Boots Challenges.

    Dionne

  6. I do love how the bright flower really pops against this background. You will not believe this….but I actually have made a card for this challenge…don’t laugh!!

  7. Love the elements of your mixed media card and the flower looks stunning set within it. Thanks for joining in at Crafty Boots Challenges this time.

  8. Love all the texture on the top layer, Shery. What a great launch of The Mixed Media Card Challenge :)

  9. you´ve got some serious texture going on on your card, Shery! just beautiful! so happy to be in this team – seem like it´s going to be a great term :) xoxo, Sanna

  10. Wow, Shery… this is so textural and fabulous! Love your style =] Michele

  11. A fabulous card Shery, a lovely design and great stencilled papers – your dafodil is beautiful!!!

    Thanks so much for joining Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Heather xx

  12. I love your daffodil(I just received mine!) Clever collage/layering on the panel! Wonderful!

  13. Fabulous design Shery. Love all the different elements that work perfectly together. And so much fun to make too!! :) Very grateful that you asked me to join this very talented group. Loll xx

  14. So totally awesome! Great job with the challenge! I’m psyched to be a part of this fun team!

  15. Oh my Shery, u make such awesomeness, have so much to learn from you ! I am totally inspired :)

  16. What a great way to lead the eye straight to the focalpoint of your card this way! Hugs, Gerrina

  17. Love all the details in this fun card! So glad you joined us at Muse this week!

  18. Oh so many beautiful layers!! Stunning background for your wonderful daffodil!
    Thanks for sharing the fun and creating the Mixed Media Card Challenge!

  19. This is gorgeous Shery! I LOVE the texture on the back ground and the sporlight on the flower! Awesome design!

  20. Fabulous texture! Thanks so much for playing along with the Anything Goes Challenge over at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog this week :)

  21. So so pretty!!!

