Paper craft project no. 208: Cherish you forever one layer card [with video tutorial]

2014-06-17 OLC Cherish you forever

It’s time for a new challenge at Time Out Challenges and this time, it’s CASE…with your own twist! We’re CASE-ing a card by the talented Donna Mikasa. We also have Marzena joining us as guest designer. Check out the projects by my teammates, our guest designer, and even Donna herself and see how we CASEd Donna’s lovely card!

As for my card, I went with Donna’s color scheme, the tone-on-tone (watermark) stamping, and the gold embossing. My twist? I did the water stamping technique using a stamp (instead of using a stencil as a stamp), used a stencil as a stencil to create the subtle honeycomb watermark, and did an OLC-ified version. The flower stamp is one I illustrated (currently my favorite stamp – I’ve been using it on my cards lately) and the sentiments are from the new set from STAMPlorations (Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments). I used gold embossing powder by Stampendous and the reversed chicken wire stencil by The Crafter’s Workshop.

I’ve got a video tutorial showing how I did the card from start to finish. It’s a short video (4 minutes, 5 seconds) — in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart (just like my other videos).

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-06-17 OLC Cherish you forever-cu

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Cards und More #108 – One Layer Cards (my second entry); Crafting from the Heart #23 – Always Anything Goes; Stempelgarten #26 – Floral DreamsOne Layer Simplicity #6 – I’ve Been Framed, and Simon Says Monday Challenge – Anything Goes.

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 208: Cherish you forever one layer card [with video tutorial]”

  1. Wow the water-colored background looks great! Thanks alot for participation in our Stempelgarten Challenge!

    Kind regards,
    Anja

  2. Gosh, what a pretty background technique! I’ll have to try this!
    Thanks for joining us at Stempelgarten-Challenge – good luck and have a nice weekend!
    Marlene

  3. Wow… such a gorgeous card, so easy to make…love it! Thanks for joining us at Stempelgarten challenge!
    ;-) Alex H.

  4. Hi Shery, it’s me again from somewhere else. As more as I see the card as more fantastic it gets. Thanks for this inspiration I will try soon also.

    Thank you very much for joining us at the Stempelgarten Challenge.

    Hugs and good luck
    Claudia

  5. Hi Shery, wow, another fantastic card. Love the watermark effect you created, this is fantastic.

    Thank you very much for joining us at the Cards und More Challenge.

    Hugs Claudia

  6. Love your BEAUTIFUL card, Shery! Thanks for sharing! Always a treat to see your video :)

  7. This card is fantastic! I love the blended colors you created and the lovely ombre effect. So gorgeous and the hints of the flowers in the background are lovely. I also really like how the black line frames the picture and how you build the sentiment into the frame. The end result is just perfect and I love the refreshing feel of this card. Thank you so much for sharing your skills with us here at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

  8. Beautiful…thanks for joining us a OLS.

  9. Such a pretty card. Thank you for joining us at Crafting From The Heart this time and we hope to see you again soon. Tracy DT

  10. When I get home I need to watch this tutorial as I am not sure what you did here but I love it, the subtle background is just perfect x

  11. Love this card Shery, u r so amazing with inking :)

  12. Beautiful CASE! I adore that water marking — will have to try that

  13. You are SO whetting my appetite…

  14. I love the bold sentiment Shery! Gorgeous.

  15. So pretty, Shery! Loved watching your tutorial!

  16. A card just as I like it! Totaly my style! Hugs, Gerrina

