Paper craft project no. 207: Heartfelt thanks one layer card [with video tutorial]

2014-06-18 OLC Heartfelt thanks

Popping by with another one layer card I made last night. I based the layout on the current sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch challenge. For the colors I used to stamp the “heartfelt” sentiment, I was inspired by the photo at Addicted to Stamps and More, where they’re celebrating their 2nd birthday! And because I’ve got my flower stamp in a frame, it fits the current One Layer Simplicity Challenge – I’ve Been Framed. I’m entering my card to two more fun challenges: Crafting by Designs June Anything Goes Challenge and Cards und More #108 – One Layer Cards.

I used archival, dye, water-based (distress), and pigment (in the form of Inktense blocks) inks, as well as some watercoloring on my favorite card base (cold-pressed watercolor paper) so you could say this is a one layer mixed media card at its simplest. I went with good old-fashioned stamping and used STAMPlorations stamps — SENTIMENT BUILDERS: Thank You and Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments. The flowers are ones I illustrated and turned into stamps.

The card is a pretty simple one to make, and I’ve got a video showing how I created this card from start to finish. The video is another shorty (5 minutes, 44 seconds to be exact), in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart. Yes, I love classical music, especially by Mozart. When I’m crafting or writing or even when I’m at the gym, I’ve got classical music playing in the background, as it helps me to relax and as weird as this may sound, the music stimulates my brain cells and I’m able to visualize [when I’m doing art], think [when I’m writing], or focus [when I’m working out] more. Actually, it isn’t weird if you’ve heard about the Mozart effect (or the effect of music you enjoy listening to), as research has found that listening to music [in this case, Mozart’s] induces a short-term performance improvement of one’s spacial-temporal reasoning. [Don’t make the mistake of thinking it increases IQ — there are no definite research results on this, and the researchers who did the study on the Mozart effect made no such claim that listening to Mozart makes one intelligent or that it raises IQ.] In any case, music by Mozart and all the other classical composers was what helped me get through university (particularly on those days that I crammed for finals) and it helps me get through deadlines (particularly on those rush writing projects from clients) — and hey, doing 12k on the rowing machine for an hour becomes fun and easy! Aannnyyway…back to the video. Again it’s a real quickie so if you’re up for a few minutes of brain stimulation while watching me create this card, head on over to YouTube. Feel free to leave me some love over there ;o)

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-06-18 OLC Heartfelt thanks-cu

  

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

6 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 207: Heartfelt thanks one layer card [with video tutorial]”

  1. Beautiful Card!! Thanks for joining us at Cards und More :) Anja

  2. Your card is absolutely stunning and there’s so much depth with the layered stamping. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

    BTW – I know what you mean about listening to classical music. When I studying for my degree I’d often work to classical music – and I’d vary the music depending on whether I was reading, taking notes or revising. Worked really well for me.

  3. Hi Shery, what a happy and friendly card you created. Love the sunflowers you used and the floating text elements.

    Thank you very much for joining us at the Cards und More Challenge.

    Hugs Claudia

  4. Fab card!
    Thank you for joining us at Cards und More.
    Hugs Gaby

  5. Oh, this is so pretty & cool! Fabulous take on the sketch!

  6. Oh my Shery :) this looks gorgeous, I love the look and the idea of stamping the sentiment to create the panel is awesome :) I agree with u on Mozart By the way, I get engrossed. Thank you for sharing with ATSM !

