Paper craft project no. 206: A scrapling and a tag

2014-06-18 A scrapling and a tag

Here’s a quickie post. I wanted to make a couple more for the current challenge at Virginia’s View hosted by no other than the super-wonderful Virginia Lu. It’s to include a recycled item in a tag or scrapling. I actually made the scrapling (right) a couple of weeks ago but I felt it needed a partner and I’d planned on doing a few more. But then life got in the way (i.e. tons of doctor appointments and lab tests, DH getting sick, more rush writing projects). Tuesday night I was able to get some serious crafting done (made 5 cards and 1 tag, and shot 2 videos) and got a tag made to go with my scrapling :o)

For my scrapling, I used a 2.5″ by 11″ 100# cardstock as base. It was left over from when I made a card that I needed to print a digi stamp on. I collaged leftover papers from the scraps I used to make this tag. They’re scraps of scraps…couldn’t throw them away so I saved the tiny bits and put them in a ziplock. Knew I’d be able to use them ;o). The doily is also a leftover from an earlier project. The stamps (background and funky birthday cake) are from the sets I’d designed for the STAMPlorations July release. I colored the birthday cake with markers and then fussy cut it.

For my tag, I recycled several items: a page from a 1967 issue of Reader’s Digest (background, middle), scrap burlap and strings, and cosmetic sponge that I turned into a flower. The cosmetic sponge is one of those in a pack of 50 or so that I bought from the dollar store several months ago. It mostly had orange and yellow inks on it so I simply added a bit more to it by stamping on it for texture. I snipped off some of the sponge to create the petals and I used my Shiva oil paint sticks (yellow and orange) to further color the edges. I also added a bit of white to the edges with my white PITT artist pen. I stuck an old brown button in the center. I stamped my sentiment (from the Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments by STAMPlorations), distressed the edges a bit, added the burlap ribbon and twine, and it’s done :o)

2014-06-18 Hello tag   2014-06-18 Birthday scrapling

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’re having a great week :o)

~Shery

4 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 206: A scrapling and a tag”

  1. I love both tags! The 2nd one is so eclectic and artsy – love it!

  2. Your tag and scrapling are UBER fabulous, Shery! I knew you can come up with a lot more ideas…I knew it! Wow..a 1967 Reader’s Digest? I would love to see that! But you sure made good use of it! I love that tag as the elements are perfect together! I also love the text background for the scrapling! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View Challenge!

  3. You have been busy, Shery! Fab tag, and I love the doily under the cake!

  4. Super fun! I adore that tag with just a touch of burlap~ Sounds like you were productive!

