Paper craft project no. 205: You make me smile one layer watercolor card [with video tutorial]

2014-06-15 OLC You make me smile
We have a new sketch challenge at the STAMPlorations blog. And we’ve got another returning guest designer, Deepti of Dee’s Art Utopia. You’ll have to check out the blog to see how she and the STAMPlorations girls interpreted the sketch. And, judging by the inspiration projects, two of the July stamp sets appear to be favorites :o) We’re gearing up for another blog hop because STAMPlorations turns one year old this month! (There’ll be prizes on all stops in the hop, so follow the STAMPlorations blog if you don’t want to miss the hop!) Here’s the sketch:

For my DT project, I went with an artsy one layer card. I stuck with a simple color palette (Pale Ochre archival ink and Dried Marigold distress ink by Ranger; Memento Tuxedo Black, and yellow and green Inktense blocks by Derwent). I used stamps from the May release (SENTIMENT BUILDERS: HappySENTIMENT BUILDERS: Thank You, and SUBWAY ART BUILDERS: Dare), a new release (Boxed Blooms and Bold Sentiments), and a soon-to-be-released (the flower stamp, which is one of several that I illustrated). I used the same watercolor stamping technique I used in this card I made the other day — only this time, I made a video tutorial. It’s a shorty — just under 5 minutes — and I demo how I created the  soft watercolor background — it’s really simple! And yeah, it’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart :o)

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-06-15 OLC You make me smile-cusmall

I’d like to enter my card to the following challenges: One Layer Simplicity Challenge #6 – I’ve Been Framede (my third entry); Keep It Simple #42 – Splatters (my second entry); Just Us Girls #245 – Watercolor Stamping (my second entry); Crafting at the Weekend #2 – Anything Goes; and Sweet Stampin’ – Say It With Flowers.

OLS   

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 205: You make me smile one layer watercolor card [with video tutorial]”

  1. Shery, I’m light years behind in commenting – and fully intend to catch up soon (school’s nearly done!!) – but HAD to pop in to tell you that I absolutely LOVE this card! Gorgeous in every way and the video: BONUS!! I am soooo going to try this technique, which also means I sooooo need to order the Boxed Blooms. The flower you used, releasing in August, is already on my wish list. Stunning, my friend, absolutely totally stunning!!
    Hugs~c
    PS. Congrats on the SRM DT spot (but I’ll congratulate you ‘properly’ when I do my catching up!)

  2. Another gorgeous card Sherry! So glad you joined in the FUN @ Keep It Simple!

  3. Such a cheerful card and I love the sentiment too! Thanks for joining us at Sweet Stampin this week for our ‘Say it with flowers’ challenge and good luck, love Jacky x

  4. another great card Shery…love the look. Thanks for playing along with the OLS.

  5. Fabulous card – love that it is OLC and the simplicity of it!
    Thanks for playing with us at Sweet Stampin’ this week. We would love for you to join us again next week.
    Pia xx

  6. Hi Shery. The blooms are beautiful. You had me fooled, thought the sentiment was popped up … until I read Vicki’s comment and looked again. Wow, stunning dimension without adding layers. Off to watch the video. Hope Tuesday went well. Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  7. This card – makes me smile. Love those blooms.

  8. Super cool card – love the splatters and sprinkles! The frame makes it perfect!

  9. Beautiful card! I love your watercolor stamping and all of those great splatters! Thanks for joining us at Just Us Girls!

  10. Shery, your card is amazing as always! I love your style and the way you have perfected spaltters. You always create such beautiful art. So glad you joined in my challenge here at JUGS!

  11. What a great combi of watercolour and grung-card! A combi that is so great on your card! Hugs, Gerrina

  12. Wow Shery, love the look u created on this card :) awesome and inspiring as always !

  13. Awesome dimension you achieved – I really had to look …. and look again – you do olc amazingly

  14. Shery, I adore this card, this water colouring looks just stunning and I like the very subtle dimension with the sentiment x

