Paper craft project no. 200: You are special one layer clean and simple card

2014-06-07 OLCAS You are special

 

Hello all! I’m sharing a card I made that was inspired by 3 super-fun challenges: NBUS Challenge #1 – Anything Goes (Friendship Theme) (hosted by the awesome Darnell);  Addicted to CAS #40 – Transport; and Inkspirational Challenge #58 – Designer’s Choice (where CAS queen Sandie picked “clean and simple” — but of course!).

This here is an OLCAS (one layer clean and simple) card that came together rather quickly. For my NBUS (never-before-used-schtuff), I used the cute stamps from Craffiti that I won earlier this year at the Scrapbooker PhD challenge blog. The stamp set has been in my stash for months unused. I stamped the “road” (a stamp from the Vignette: Chevron and Arrows by STAMPlorations) and then I created my street scene. I stamped the small car and mini-van first and then masked them to stamp the clock tower and the big bus in the background. I had these cars facing and going to the right. I stamped the car that’s going the other direction and colored it with Memento markers. I stamped the stop light and then the sentiment (stamps from the It’s All About You! rubber stamp set from STAMPlorations).

I love this card for a couple of reasons. One, it can be interpreted in so many ways and can hold a special meaning when given to a friend. The colored car going the other direction could mean you don’t need to be like everybody else or do what everyone else is doing. Fitting in (and even being happy) doesn’t mean you have to go with the flow all the time; you just gotta dance to the beat of your own drum (or in this case, drive to where you want to be without worrying about what others think). Okay, I’m done being philosophical ;o)

Then there’s another reason I really, really, really love this card. After I finished it, I held it up and showed it to DH who was sitting about 10 feet away from me. When he saw it, he said, “Hey, that’s a great man card, dear.” I was so surprised that my mind went blank. After a minute or so, I said, “Wow dear…I’m so impressed with you. I didn’t expect you to use terms like ‘man card’. I think all that time you spend sitting close to me and watching me make cards and stuff has paid off!” He usually gives my artsy/cardsy projects either a blank look or a confused stare. (But then again, he saw my card when it was too far for him to notice that my colorful car has butterflies on it!)

      

Anyway, thanks so much for stopping by and letting me babble! Hope you’re having a fun weekend!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 200: You are special one layer clean and simple card”

  1. How adorable is this! Love your paint job ;) – Thanks for joining in with ATCAS!

  2. Fantastic masking & stamping to create such a fun scene.I love the ‘special’ car and the lovely sentiment!

  3. Very cute one layer card…love how you put colour on only one car.

  4. Love how you have only coloured the car and extra love ALL that white space!
    Thanks for playing with us at Inkspirational challenges. Hope you will join us again next time.
    Pia

  5. I love the fancy colored car in the pack. Great card! And kudos to your hubby for trying!

  6. This is such a perfect CAS card, love that u colored one card and kept the rest black and white :) Thank you for sharing with ATCAS!

  7. Great one layer card! really cute!

  8. Great one layer cas card – you did an amazing job and I like how only the one special car is colored in!!

  9. Fabulous idea to just colour a small part of the scene – has great impact.
    Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational Challenges. Come back next time! Marina

  10. Your card is absolutely fabulous and unique, Shery, in your choice of images and your ‘message.’ Totally awesome! And your husband is also totally awesome (well…first because he married you!) but in his assessment of this as a ‘manly card.’ His eye for design, butterflies and all *grin* warrants applause! What a fabulous post!! Hugs~c

  11. These are adorable!! I love how you only colored a specific part of the scene!!

  12. Just love all the action in this CAS wonder! That colorful car just steals the show. And DH’s comment… too funny!

  13. Fabulous! Love those stamps :)

  14. What a brilliant way to depict that wonderful sediment, Shery! I love your special car and I laughed at what your DH said! I’d drop over, too, if the Mister did that!! Thank you so much for your support of my NBUS challenge!! Enjoy the day! Hugs, Darnell

  15. Super to colour just the main part! A fun card again! Hugs, Gerrina

  16. Just perfect and I so love you went CAS and I like the idea of the one car going the other way. Thanks for joiningus at Ink and ATCAS

