Paper craft project no. 198: Bloom where you are one layer card

Hello and welcome to a brand new challenge at Time Out Challenges! For this fortnight, our theme is SUMMER  with the optional twist FLOWERS. So create a project with a summer theme (or anything really wherein your are inspired by the theme) with or without the optional twist. If you do create a project with an optional twist, you get a shot at winning a prize from our sponsor this month, CAS-ual Fridays. This week, our guest designer is Bobby from Bits & Pieces. Please check out the projects that my teammates and our guest designer created for the challenge.

For my project, I went with a one layer card. I started with the image of California golden poppies. I drew them on paper then scanned them. I cleaned it up a bit  then printed on 100# cardstock. (This image is one of several of my illustrations that will be available as clear stamps at STAMPlorations in a couple of months.) Next, I did some masking and sponged Memento inks (Cottage Ivy, Pear Tart, and Northern Pine) on the bottom area. I used Spectrum Noir markers to color the poppies. For the frame, I used some left over doodle rub-ons that I found in my stash. Last, I stamped the sentiment (from the SUBWAY ART BUILDERS: Dare). And the card is done :o)

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: One Layer Simplicity #6 – I’ve Been Framed; CAS(E) This Sketch #78 (I placed the sentiment toward the top instead of the bottom); Crafting By Designs – Anything Goes; and CASology #98 – Shine (it’s summer now, which means more sunshine and being in California (where we’re hitting the mid-90s this week in the valley, btw), I am enjoying the last of the poppies at our place — they’re starting to wilt under the heat, but they were beautiful several weeks ago when the temps were still cooler; then I also think that the word “bloom” can, in the context of the sentiment, be synonymous with “shine”; other synonyms for shine include “excel”, “be outstanding”, “stand out”, “be brilliant”).

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 198: Bloom where you are one layer card”

  1. A very summery card with those orange flowers and love that border too.

  2. What stunning blooms, Shery … these California poppies are just gorgeous! Anita :)

  3. Wow this is gorgeous! I love that you drew these! I may need to get that stamp when it comes out! Love the bright colors too…they just pop off the card! Absolutely lovely!

  4. Wonderful take on the sketch, and kudos to you with your stamp designs!
    Thanks for joining us at CAS(E) this Sketch!

  5. Fabulous! Love the flowers, the masked grass and that doodle frame is ace!

  6. OK Shery, POPPIES are my absolute favorite girl!!!!!!! Love that you thought of shine as more sun, though in the PNW, and actually today, before I rant of the rain, it was sunny, so actually a very nice day indeed!!!! Thanks for joining us at CASology,

    Now, off to check out your Mixed media stuff = YAY!!!!!!

  7. Stunning, gorgeous and WOW!! And did I read right these lovely blooms will be part of an upcoming STAMPlorations set? If so, I’ll be welcoming them to my collection (which I love oodles!!). Frame is fabulous! I think you should add this to Inkspirational Challenge (more the merrier!). Your weather sounds wonderful…we’re still cool, rainy and windy… Hugs~c

  8. Gorgeous, with those graduated orange blossoms!

  9. Oh, this is so pretty! Wonderful take on the sketch!

  10. such a lovely card Shery….thanks so much for playing along with my OLS challenge.

  11. You card is beautiful Sherry. I love the bright blooms & doodle frame surrounding them. Hugs Bev x

  12. These flowers are so beautifully bright! Love the colours you used! And putting it in a frame made this card a super one! Hugs, Gerrina

  13. I can’t wait for your flower stamps, Shery, very promising!! :) Beautiful card, the border adds a fun touch. xxx

  14. Gorgeous Shery, these flowers really are fabulous and I do like the funky border x

