Paper craft project no. 197: Happy birthday mixed media card

2014-05-31 Happy birthday mixed media card

 

Time for a new sketch at the STAMPlorations blog! The challenge runs until June 13. We’ve got Monika making her second appearance as guest designer. You’ll find inspiration projects by the STAMPlorations girls on the blog so I hope you’ll check it out. We’ve got prizes and this month, 3 Tim Holtz stencils are up for grabs. Simply participate in all 3 challenges (2 sketch challenges and 1 monthly challenge) we have this month and you get a shot at the prize.

For my inspiration project, I went with a mixed media card. I don’t have a video of this card (I forgot to record and only remembered when I was more than halfway through the card), but I did shoot a video of a mixed media tag I made afterwards. I used the same techniques on both projects and essentially the same supplies (with minor differences). The video is under 8 minutes and you can watch it here.

I used scraps from two 6×6 pads (Authentique and Prima), TH burlap stencil, Liquitex products (gesso, gel medium, and modeling paste), distress paints, stickles, markers (Spectrum Noir and Faber-Castell), and STAMPlorations stamps (SENTIMENT BUILDERS: Happy, VIGNETTE: Artful Flutters, and VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals).

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Seize the Birthday (I skipped the optional toppings); Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes; Dragonfly Dreams Challenge #6 – Things with Wings; and Funday Friday Challenge #52 – HB2U.

 Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

PS: I hope you’ll come check out my new challenge blog, The Mixed Media Card Challenge. It starts July 1st and I’ve got a DT call :o)

17 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 197: Happy birthday mixed media card”

  1. love the texture and colors on this card! Thanks for joining us at Jo’s!

  2. Great card – there’s a lot but it all works perfectly. I’m looking forward to you new blog! Thanks for playing along with Jo’s Scrap Shack Funday Friday!

  3. This is a stunning creation, love all the layers and texture, fabulous!

    Thanks for joining us at Dragonfly Dreams and I hope you come back soon!

    Hugz

    Laurian
    Owner Dragonfly Dreams

  4. Hi Shery. Love it. Great mix of papers and stamped images. Love the textured border. Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  5. Super cool card !!! I love the mixed media !!! Thank you so much for joining us for Jo’s Fun Friday !!! Hope you join us again !
    Hugs,
    Mayra DTM
    Mayrasdesigns.blogspot.com

  6. Wow lots of textures on this card love all the different pattern papers too :) Thanks for playing along with us at FFC

  7. Fabulous mixed media card. Love the flowers, texture and different patterns. Thanks for sharing at Seize the Birthday.

  8. What a wonderful mixed media card, love how well balance it is.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

  9. What an amazing use of the sketch! I see the sketch with all that white space but you take it to the next level and give us the wow factor! LOVE it, Shery xx

  10. So much mixed media goodness – amazing! Did some advertising for you new challenge – entry # 5 is a “referral”….perhaps you’ll get some more….

  11. Sherry, you are soooo good at Mixed Media! Love your card and all the texture and depth! Thanks for sharing it with us over at a Seize the Birthday!

  12. Great Mixed Media card! Love the bold textures and designs! Hugs, Gerrina

  13. You’ve officially rendered me speechless with how AWESOME your card is!! My stars, Shery, but you are so talented! In awe…your video will be running as soon as I’m home from work! Just so you know, I am 10000000% in love with my STAMPlorations stamps! IN LOVE, I say…Note coming later this week…I’ve already submitted two cards using them, and there will be a slew more!! Hugs~c

  14. Awesome use of patterns and texture!!

  15. Wow Shery, I am amazed at how you create these wonderful mixed media cards. I love the texture in this and the torn edges x

  16. Wow, this one has a lot to look at! You are so good at this bold, confident mixed media style. I especially like the fun patterned papers. Off to watch your video now! xxx

