Paper craft project no. 196: Live simply big mixed media tag [with video tutorial]

2014-06-01 Live simply big mixed media tag

Hello! I’m back with a new project — this time a mixed media tag and it’s big! This tag is another one of those serendipitous projects. I was making a card Saturday night and in my typical fashion, I forgot to shoot a video for it. Turned out to be a good thing because during one of my breaks, I checked the addicting Virginia’s View Challenge blog by the super-awesome Virginia Lu and was delighted to see a new challenge up! I thought I’d shoot a video for that using the same techniques I used to make my card earlier. This month, it’s a Tag and Scrapling Challenge — create a tag or scrapling or both AND to use a recycled item. Love the last part right away because I tend to hoard save everything from packaging down to the baby wipes and paper towels I use for removing the paints and inks on my hands when I’m crafting.

I started with cold-pressed watercolor paper (Canson) that I had pre-cut to 4.25″ by 11″. It was in my “recycle” pile because I accidentally spattered a little ink  and smudged some paint on one side earlier. [When it comes to paper, especially the thick ones, I will bleed every last inch of white space I can get.] I cut it to down to  8″ to remove the paint smudge, but the finished tag is an inch shorter. The patterned paper I used for decoupaging and stamping the butterflies are all leftovers, and so is the piece of burlap ribbon. Then for texture, I used one of the dried up [but colorful] baby wipes in my stash [I never throw those away!] and some packing material [the thin, curly paper bits on the bottom of my tag]. Add in some gesso, gel medium, modeling paste, distress paint, doodling, embossing powder, an SRM sticker, and STAMPlorations stamps and voila — a big mixed media tag. You’ll find the supply list at the end of this post.

Oh and yes, the video…took me about 45 minutes to make this tag but I edited the video, sped it up, captioned it, and added Mozart (if you don’t hear any music, it means YouTube isn’t done adding it to the video), just like how did it in my previous videos. The video is under 8 minutes so it won’t take up a lot of your time :o) Hope you enjoy it!

 Watch the YouTube video tutorial here

2014-06-01 Live simply big mixed media tag-closeup

I’d also like to enter my big mixed media tag to Butterfly Challenge #8 – Butterfly Bingo (I went with the middle: wet embossing, butterflies, and flowers) and Mixed Media Mojo #1 – Use Stamps and at least 2 Mediums (I used more than 2).

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE: Artful Flutters and VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals [STAMPlorations]
Paper: 140-lb cold-pressed watercolor paper [Canson]; designer paper scraps [Prima, Authentique]
Inks: Jet Black Archival, Rusty Hinge Distress Ink Pad, Wild Honey Distress Paint [Ranger]; True Black alcohol marker [Spectrum Noir]; White PITT artist pen [Faber-Castell]
Other supplies: sentiment sticker (Life is Good – 51014) [SRM Stickers]; gesso, glossy gel medium, modeling paste [Liquitex]; clear embossing powder [Zing!] burlap stencil [Tim Holtz/Stampers Anonymous]; ribbon [The Paper Studio]; glossy accents [Ranger]; scraps (packing material and dried baby wipes) from my stash
Tools: heat-it tool [Ranger]; crop-a-dile [We-R-Memory Keepers]; TH distressing tool

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful week!

~Shery

PS: I hope you’ll come check out my new challenge blog, The Mixed Media Card Challenge. It starts July 1st and I’ve got a DT call :o)

14 Responses to “Paper craft project no. 196: Live simply big mixed media tag [with video tutorial]”

  1. Fabulous tag design. I really like all the added details. Thanks for joining the Mixed Media Mojo Challenge.

  2. This tag is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing a video tutorial.

  3. Thank you for the video showing all of the steps it took to make this fabulous tag, Shery! I love it!

  4. Great tag, great details and fun, fun colours and patterns!

  5. Whoa – if only I could find a humongojumbo tag that I could attach all the snippets to which are flying around my work space. Post submission call it always looked like a tornado just hit it. Thanks for the heads up on Virginia’s new challenge. I really like this “look” on the smaller canvas of a tag. And I love those blue butterflies.

  6. This is super awesome! LOVE IT! Thanks so much for playing along with Mixed Media Mojo!

  7. O.M.G! You’re unleashing some serious mixed media creativity with this and the card, Shery – fabulous!

  8. Did you know that with all those snippets on your tag you could also enter Di’s challenge
    http://pixiescraftyworkshop.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/pixies-snippets-playground-week-127.html
    Hugs Mrs a.

  9. Goodness me where do I start! Absolutely fab. Love your description of the making of this tag. Love those butterflies (new ones to me). So glad you said that you keep everything even your baby wipes. I have a blogging friend that when I found she had chucked some in her craft bin I persuaded her to fish them back out and send to me instead.!! Thankyou for fluttering by with this gorgeous tag. Hugs Mrs A. (Butterfly challenge).

  10. Wow, you have been seriously bussy with textures on this one! Great colours and a real summer-tag! Hugs, Gerrina

  11. Truly AWESOME! Love how you used all the elements together and made the design look cohesive! Genius use of dry baby wipes ( who knew?)! I love the clear embossing on the butterflies and your added black outlines and ink splatter…Thanks so much for playing Virginia’s View Challenge!

  12. Wow, this is an amazing tag, so many awesome details to soak in!! Thanks for playing with us at the Mixed Media Mojo challenge blog!

  13. I instantly thought of you when I saw Virginia’s challenge! Fabulous tag!

Trackbacks

