Paper craft project no. 195: Heartfelt thanks mixed media card [with video tutorial]

2014-05-27 Heartfelt thanks mixed media card

Hello and glad you stopped by! It’s a brand new challenge over at The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog and this week, the challenge is to use 3 flowers in your project. For my project, I used a digi stamp from one of our sponsors, Sweet ‘n Sassy. It’s actually a collage digi stamp, but what I did was color just the 3 flowers in it with Spectrum Noir and fussy cut them. For the background, I used an embossing folder and some Distress paints to pull a print. But rather than bore you with a long description of how I made this card, I thought I’d show you. Took me about 45 minutes to make this mixed media card, but my sped-up video is less than 7 minutes. Yep, like my previous videos, this is captioned and accompanied by Mozart (if you don’t hear any music, it means YouTube isn’t done adding it to my video). I hope you’ll check out the projects that my teammates created and we’d love it if you’d join us!

 Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE

2014-05-27 Heartfelt thanks mixed media card - closeup

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Addicted to Stamps and More #97 – Make Your Mark (I used Spectrum Noir markers, Distress paints, white PITT artist pen, and Inktense blocks); Through the Craftroom Door – Always Anything Goes; Crafting from the Heart #20 – Anything Goes; Fairytale Stampers #39 – Flowers; and Brown Sugar Challenge #95 – Anything Goes.

ETA: I’m also linking this to Inkspirational #57 – Bloom. (Thanks for the heads up, Carol!)

By the way, I have a new monthly challenge blog, The Mixed Media Card Challenge, and it officially starts July 1. I’m looking for a few card-makers who love playing with different mediums to join the design team. Hope you’ll check it out!

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 195: Heartfelt thanks mixed media card [with video tutorial]”

  1. Die ist wundervoll großartig geworden.
    Hab lieben Dank für’s mitmachen bei Fairytale Stampers
    GLG Tamesis

  2. Awesome mixed media Card! Love those flowers and your background. Thank you for sharing your talent with TTCRD this week.

  3. Your card is beautiful
    thank you for joining us at Fairytale Stampers.
    hugs Manu

  4. Great DT card for the Crafters Cafe Challenge this week

  5. Hi Shery. I came over to thank you for the great job you did using Creative Bug Digital SnapShots image, Hearts Bouquet on your DT project for 613 Avenue Create this week, but unfortunately I can’t seem to find your post. I was going to recommend that you come and link it up to our own current challenge so if you do end up posting it before June 3, I hope you’ll consider linking. It is anything goes using a CBD image and we’d love to see your creation there. You can link up here: http://scrapbookingforbeginners-naomi.blogspot.ca/2014/05/challenge-2-anything-goes.html

    Regards,
    Lisa D.
    Promotional Coordinator
    Creative Bug Digital SnapShots
    {Creative Bug Digital SnapShots}

  6. What a beautiful work of art :) you are such an inspirations when it comes to mixed media :)

  7. Beautiful highlighting of the flowers on a gorgeous background. Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational Challenges. Come back next time! Marina

  8. What a fabulous design, Shery! Love that background…it sets your flowers off so beautifully!

  9. This is beautiful! Love your background and your colouring of the flowers is fabulous! Thanks for playing along with us at Inkspirational! :-)

  10. a beautiful card.

    danke für deine TN bei den fairytale stampers.

    glg mrggi

  11. I’ll definitely be watching the video later, so popping in to let you know this is swoon-inducing! The background is ever so -eye-catching; a perfect complement for your beautifully coloured flowers (I think you should share this gem over at Inkspirational where the prompt is ‘bloom”). Gorgeous to the max!!
    c

  12. Such a beautiful fin and sunny card! Look like you just picked a little oart of a garden to show us…. Have a fun day, Gerrina

  13. Great card Shery! That background is stunning! Thanks so much for playing along at ATSM xx

