Paper craft project no. 194: Happy [belated] birthday, Vicki!

2014-05-23 Sending you happy thoughts on your birthday

 

I made this card for one of the most talented card-makers I’m fortunate to know: Vicki of All I Do Is Stamp. It was her birthday on May 22 and the STAMPlorations girls thought to surprise her with more card selfies on the blog. I’m always in awe of Vicki’s cards — perfectly layered, awesomely bold, and fabulously CAS. And don’t get me going about the bows in her card. I’m completely lacking in that department (I tried…and failed miserably!) so I went about creating a birthday card that has her bold and happy style. I inked a Sizzix embossing folder with Distress paints (broken china, barn door, and mustard seed), gave it a liberal spritz of water, and then laid white cardstock on it to get a print. Once the paint was dry, I sponged mustard seed Distress ink all over then spattered a bit of water to get watermarks. I stamped the sentiment (from the SENTIMENT BUILDERS: Happy and Thank you) in Memento teal zeal and rhubarb stalk before adhering my panel to the card base. This one’s on its way to Vicki :o)

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

8 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 194: Happy [belated] birthday, Vicki!”

  1. GORGEOUS!! Of course Vicki loves it, as do I! Love the vibrant colours, the fabulous images, the sense of ‘movement’…absolutely outstanding! WOW!
    c

  2. Oh my goodness, totally gorgeous. Lovely BG and equally lovely colors :)

  3. Bright and cheery! Your inky background is gorgeous, Shery! I am sure Vicki is loving this (see above)!!

  4. Hi Shery. Love the background with its bright and happy colours. Great card. Must get some distress paints! xxx

  5. Love the grunge look in those bright colours! Hugs, Gerrina

  6. I LOVE THIS CARD!! Your technique is one I still need to try, but meanwhile THANK YOU so much for the “party” — seriously, you guys just ROCK and I am so happy to be a part of this great group of Designers! :)

  7. Love this swirly background, Shery! Not tried paints with this technique yet, but you’ve inspired me to have a go.

