Paper craft project nos. 190 & 191: Heartfelt thanks and Thinking of you

2014-05-20 Heartfelt thanks

Hello! I’ve got two cards to share in this post. I finally got done with that big writing project and so I’m hoping to get back to crafting again this week…that, and cleaning my work space since I’ve put it off long enough. (Oh, and folding clothes as well — I’ve procrastinated on that task long enough. I really do hate folding and one of my goals is to someday own a really, really, REALLY huge closet and tons of hangers so that I won’t ever have to fold clothes.)

Anyway, the card above is for the current challenge at TIME OUT Challenges. This fortnight, it’s Home Sweet Home Photo Inspiration. Joining us as guest designer is Christine. I hope you’ll check out our challenge, look at the projects by my teammates, and then join us! I was inspired by the rich colors in the photo, particularly the deep pink and deep green. Taking my cue from the beautiful colors, I created the above CAS card. It’s pretty straightforward really: I alternately stamped the grunge floral strips (STAMPlorations) in Memento Lilac Posies and Olive Grove on my card base. Next, I die-cut a white cardstock panel using a stitched mat die (Lil’ Inker). I stamped a floral stamp (Inkadinkado) in Memento Lulu Lavender on the upper left of the panel and stamped the sentiment (STAMPlorations). I adhered the panel at an angle onto my card base.

I’m linking up my first card to the following fun challenges: The Paper Players #196 – Clean and Simple Floral; Simon Says Monday Challenge – Botanical; and Addicted to Stamps and More #96 – Anything Goes.

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog GRAB OUR BADGE!

And now for card #2…

2014-05-21 CAS Thinking of you

I went with another CAS card. I based the layout of my card on the sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch #76. I used one of the stitched mat dies from Lil’ Inker to die-cut the panel. I stamped the flowers and bubbles (Inkadinkado) on the upper left in Archival Jet Black (Ranger) then loosely watercolored the images with Inktense Blocks (Derwent). I stamped the sentiment (STAMPlorations) and then adhered the panel onto the card base. I affixed 3 ivory pearls to finish the card.

My second card fits a couple other challenges: CASology #96 – Flower and Less is More #172 – Flowers.

  

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project nos. 190 & 191: Heartfelt thanks and Thinking of you”

  1. Very pretty. I love the busy background with the muted focal point! Thank you so much for sharing with us at Addicted to Stamps and More this week. We sure hope to see you around again soon :)

  2. Two fabulous cards, Shery, but I especially love the second one with the pop of colour against the white! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  3. Pretty cards! I love the stamped background. Thank you for sharing your work with us for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. ~Michelle

  4. Shery, I love your colorful flower card…so cheerful and fun! Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

  5. Two beautiful cards, love the colours, stamped background and layout of the first and the CAS perfection of the second :) Hugs Bev x

  6. Two super cards Shery!
    Thank you for your LIM entry
    Anne
    Less is More Designer

  7. Both cards are beautiful Sheri! Love that background you created on the TO card! And I just adore those Lil Inkers dies! Must get some!

  8. This is just fabulous Shery.
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  9. Wonderful cards! Great takes on the sketch!

  10. A dynamic duo of delights here, Shery! Love the background of the first, with the pretty solo image on the main panel. On the second, the loosely water-coloured flowers are soooo eye-catching! Gorgeous x two!! Hugs~c

  11. Gorgeous cards, superb colours and style.
    Thanks for sharing
    Sarah
    Less is More

  12. great background in the first card and I love the effect of the loose water colouring in the second x

  13. Love the super stamped background and the combination with the swirl on your card! Hugs, Gerrina

