Paper craft project no. 187: Happy birthday

2014-05-16 Happy birthday Dad

May is one busy month around here in terms of special occasions! A little over a week ago, my sister and nephew (her youngest son) celebrated their birthdays. Last week, my mother-in-law and father-in-law had their birthdays as well, and last Friday, we started a virtual birthday party for Sandie. Friday was also my brother and his wife’s 2nd wedding anniversary. This week, DH and I will be celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and a week after that, it’s his birthday! And while I’m at it, I recently had one of my babies turn 14…well, not really a kid, but a domain name — haha! It isn’t my oldest domain name (the oldest turned 16 last March), but it certainly is one of my most popular and profitable domains. (There was a time when I owned over 125 of them — yes, 125+ domain names! Now I am down to just about 50 or so.)

Anyway, this card is a re-make of the card I made for my father-in-law. He’s already got the card I made for him and I didn’t take a photo, but since it was a simple card, I simply made another one. (I can’t give this card to DH on his birthday because he saw me making it! I gotta come up with something new for him and be sneaky about it. Lately, he’s taken an interest in my card-making and has been watching me make cards.) I used stamps from My Mind’s Eye (an NBUS) and the sentiment is from the new STAMPlorations release, SENTIMENT BUILDERS: Happy. I used just two colors: Memento Teal Zeal and Tuxedo Black. I based the layout of the card on the current sketch for CAS on Sunday #33.

I’m hooking up my one layer masculine card to the following fun challenges: Seize the Birthday – Anything GoesCAS on Sunday #33; A Creative Romance – One for the Boys; and Suzy Bee’s Bloomin’ Challenge #29 – Clean and Simple.

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 187: Happy birthday”

  1. Such a fun card amazing. Thank you for joining us over at CAS on sunday.

  2. Thanks for sharing your super card for Suzy Bee’s Bloomin’ challenge 29: ‘clean and simple’ – hope to see you again soon, Hazel, DT x

  3. Wow, you’re surrounded by a blitz of celebrations, Shery! Hectic, but I’m sure fabulous fun! Congrats to you and your husband on your upcoming 10th Anniversary, and Happy Birthday to him, as well! Your card is simply tooooo clever! Love hearing that your husband has taken an interest in your card-making; I’m sure his support and encouragement mean the world to you, even if you have to be sneaky about some of your creations! Delightful post; super wonderful card! Hugs~c

  4. This is just GREAT! I am amazed. So simply clear and so fabulous. Love the stamps and the color combo used. Great job!
    Thank you for joining us this week at Seize the Birthday!
    Hugs, Marzena, DT

  5. Ha! This is such a FUN card! Thanks for playing with us at CAS on Sunday!

  6. That is such a fun card!! So cool that your hubby has an interest in your card making.
    So glad you played along at Seize the Birthday!

  7. Such a fun masculine birthday card! You know I used to complain to my hubby because of his lack of interest in my card making hobby… Nowadays I often ask “do you want to see what I made?” and he has learned to say yes… Then he nods approvingly and compliments how fab my card is. I believe if I’d ask him the next day how the card was like he would have no idea! :) Men! Anyways, very fun that your hubby is interested for real! :)

  8. Great CAS card and a perfect masculine card! Thanks for joining us at Seize the Birthday!

  9. Fabulous Design, thank you for sharing with us over at Suzy Bee’s Bloomin Challenge,your support is greatly appreciated… we would love you to come again next week for another fun challenge…
    Hugs
    Suzy B Owner Suzy Bee’s Bloomin Challenge
    XX

  10. Love this card design – so very cool and just perfect for a guy card!l

  11. Super fun use of the sketch and a masculine card!

